LibGuides: Theatre: Scripts

Search the Library Holdings in OneSearch

OneSearch - enter your keywords below.

OneSearch will find books, e-books, periodicals, films, music scores and CDs, audio recordings, government publications, archival materials, maps, as well as individual journal or newspaper articles.
To find the location of a call number consult this "stack location guide".

Didn't find what you need? Try the following options:

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat, available on the FirstSearch interface, is a combined catalog for over 70,000 libraries in 170 countries. The information is updated daily.

Interlibrary Loan (aka ILLiad)
If Fondren Library does not have the book or article you need ...
more...less...
ILL will borrow it for you from another library. This free service is available to Rice students, faculty, and staff.

Online Script Collections

American Drama 1714-1915 This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1500 plays from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries, written by early American dramatists.
Black Drama, 3rd Edition (1850 to Present) This link opens in a new window
More than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from English-speaking Africa, North America, the Caribbean, and elsewhere in the African diaspora.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the library's collections in Drama Online, including play texts, filmed performances, master classes, documentaries and more.
Asian Theatre, Aurora Metro Books, British, American and Australian Theatre, Classic Spring Oscar Wilde, Drama Online Core Collection, Critical Studies and Performance Practice, Currency Press, Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen, European Theatre, Focal Press Theatre Books, The Hollow Crown, Ken Rea's The Outstanding Actor, L.A. Theatre Works, National Theatre Collection 1, 2 & 3, Nick Hern Books, Oberon Books 1 & 2, Playwrights and Practitioners, Playwrights Canada Press, Shakespeare in the Present, Shakespeare Video Collection, Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 1 & 2, Shakespeare's Heroes and Villains, Stage on Screen, TCG Books, Theatre Making and Performance Training and Theatre Performance and Practice.
English Drama This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
Latin American Drama This link opens in a new window
This collection includes plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries (Alexander Street Press).
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and Fiction This link opens in a new window
This collection consists of "poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before (Alexander Street Press)." This collection is part of ProQuest's World Literature Collection.
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window
20th Century North American Drama contains 1,530 plays by 223 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.