LibGuides: Urban Studies: Statistics and Opinion

Opinion Polls

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Polling the Nations compiles 300,000 questions & responses from more than 12,000 surveys conducted in the U.S. and 70 other countries.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Data from surveys of public opinion (1930s+). Most data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. Contains surveys from the United States, as well as from Europe, Latin America and Asia. The Archives also contain election poll data, as well as Japanese, Latin American, and Canadian data archives.

GIS/Data Center

The GIS/Data Center provides support and access to GIS. GIS (Geographic Information System) software is a tool used to analyze georeferenced data. It can be used for mapping and analyzing any data including but not limited to census information, political affiliation and religious beliefs.

Sources for Statistics

Locating data sources can be challenging. Fondren provides you access to the following:

FedStats This link opens in a new window
Statistics from over 100 federal agencies.
CQ Voting & Elections Collection This link opens in a new window
Integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material for U.S. elections.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR provides access to a vast archive of social science data. ICPSR is a membership organization; as an "ICPSR Direct" member (courtesy of Rice's membership), you can register for a personal password and download information directly from ICPSR.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexing & abstracts for a range of sources from U.S. federal, U.S. state, and international organization publications.
Formerly known as LexisNexis Statistical.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information with the ability to create thematic and interactive maps and reports. Includes data on religious congregations.

Note: Users who want to bypass the option to create their own account can click on the Maps&Tables link to access the Social Explorer database.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Free Archives from U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
A digest of statistics from U.S. government departments.