LibGuides: European History: Modern Era (17th century onward)

Online Resources

Early English Books Online-- Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP)
Searchable and downloadable handmade transcriptions of thousands of texts from the Early English Books Online database.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers
The U.K. Parliamentary Papers consists of the following modules:
● House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 18th Century, 19th Century and 20th Century (1688-2004)
● House of Lords Parliamentary Papers (1800-1910)
● Hansard (1803-2005)
● Eighteenth Century Parliamentary Papers Collection, which is comprised of: 1) Harper Collection of Private Bills (1695-1814); 2) House of Commons Sessional Papers (1715-1800); 3) House of Lords Sessional Papers (1714-1805); 4) Journals of the House of Commons (1688-1834); 5) Journals of the House of Lords (1688-1834); 6) Local and Personal Acts (1797-1834); and 7) Parliamentary Register (1780-1796).
Making of the Modern World (the)
Contains over 61,000 books from the period 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials. In almost 12 million pages, it focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
The Making of the Modern World consists of:
- Part 1: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850
- Part II: 1851-1914
- Part III: 1890-1945
- Part IV: 1800-1890
Global Commodities
Primary sources from libraries, companies, and trade organizations tracking the history of fifteen commodities traded around the world. Includes company papers and accounts, government reports, statistical records, maps, advertising, photos, paintings, prints, and examples of finished goods and raw materials.

Avalon Project -- Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
From antiquity to the present. "The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. The Avalon Project will no doubt contain controversial documents. Their inclusion does not indicate endorsement of their contents nor sympathy with the ideology, doctrines, or means employed by their authors. They are included for the sake of completeness and balance and because in many cases they are by our definition a supporting document. "

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives.
Included sources:
- Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue
- The Nineteenth Century
- American Periodicals
- British Periodicals
- Cotgreave's Index
- An Index to Legal Periodical Literature
- Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811-1849
- Periodicals Index Online
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
- Stead's Index to Periodical Literature
- The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
- Proceedings of the Old Bailey
- The U.S. Serial Set
- Archive Finder
- Palmer's Index to The Times
- The "Bookman" Directory of Booksellers, Publishers and Authors
- Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism

British Library -- World War One
Supported by over 500 historical sources from across Europe, this resource examines key themes in the history of World War One. Explore a wealth of original source material, over 50 newly-commissioned articles written by historians, teachers' notes and more to discover how war affected people on different sides of the conflict.

Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
Primary source documents on the movement and resettlement of people in Europe following World War II.
Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement:Forced Migration and World War II
Correspondence, reports, files from government and organizations, and other primary sources on refugees and displaced persons in Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935-1950.
This database includes the following modules:
- Refugee Records from the General Correspondence Files of the Political Departments of the Foreign Office, Record Group 371, 1938-1950
- Refugee Files from the Records of the Foreign Office, 1938-1950
- Refugee Records from the War Cabinet, the Colonial Office, the Home Office and the War Office, 1935-1939
- The Early Cold War and Decolonization

Holocaust Collection
Search over one million Holocaust-related records - including millions of names and 26000 photos from the National Archives and US Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Hitler. Quellen 1924-45
Speeches, writings, proclamations and other documents pulled from Germany's Institute for Contemporary History's compilations Hitler -- Speeches, Writings, Proclamations (1925-33) and Hitler -- Speeches, Writings, Proclamations (1932-1945). Text is in German.

Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive
The Archive serves as a comprehensive informational and archival resource worldwide for moving image materials pertaining to the Holocaust and related aspects of World War II. Staff continue to locate, acquire, preserve, and document historical film footage from sources throughout the United States and abroad.

Cold War: Voices Of Confrontation And Conciliation
Transcripts of oral interviews with major figures from the Cold War.

WW1 – The Definitive Collection, from British Pathé
British Pathé, a newsreel and documentary production company, holds an extensive collection of archival film footage from World War I. Now available online, the footage provides a rare glimpse into various aspects of life during the Great War. The films in this collection are international in scope and organized into categories such as political leaders including President Woodrow Wilson and Tsar Nicholas II, battles and types of warfare, and experiences of civilians during and after the war. Users can also search for films by keyword; the results are drawn not only from the World War I collection but also the entire catalog of British Pathé’s film archives. Each film includes a short summary and description with options to view the films in full screen or as individual stills. The website is an excellent source for researchers of any level interested in primary source materials on World War I and may be of particular interest to those in academic and research libraries. —Mackenzie Ryan, Texas State Library and Archives Commission, Austin, Texas

Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment Online
Collection of ebooks on the history, philosophy, and literature of the Enlightenment.
Electronic Enlightenment: Letters and Lives
Correspondence from the early 17th to the mid-19th century, including edited letters from across Europe, the Americas and Asia. Topics covered in letters include religious tolerance, animal rights, vulcanology, classical archeology, economic modelling, and celebrity culture.

Journals and Newspapers

Full Text of Historic European Newspapers, from Europeana

British Library Newspapers
Searchable text and images from 18th-20th century regional and local British newspapers, collected by the British Library.
Rice University owns access to the following modules:
- Part I: 1800-1900 (national and regional papers)
- Part II:1800-1900 (local newspapers)
- Part III: 1741-1950 (national and regional papers)
- Part IV: 1732-1950 (local newspapers)
- Part V: 1746-1950 (northern regional newspapers)
- Part VI: 1783-1950 (Ireland).

Zeitschriften der Aufklärung -- Journals of the Enlightenment era
"Retrospektive Digitalisierung wissenschaftlicher Rezensionsorgane und Literaturzeitschriften des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts aus dem deutschen Sprachraum" -- digital versions of German-language journals of the second half of 18th and early 19th centuries.
Enlightenment Journals
A large number of 18th and 19th century journals, ranging from Berlinische Monatsschrift to Thalia. Search and browse full text.

ANNO -- Austrian Newspapers Online
Searchable text of hundreds of historical newspaper and magazine titles published in Austria from late 18th through early 20th century.

Maps and Atlases

Digital Atlas of European History since 1500
Combines thematic cartography with GIS-based mapping in order to create a visual and interactive history of the European state system since 1500.