Friends of Fondren Resources: History
American History
Part of the Library of Congress American Memory collections, African-American Odyssey includes digital collections such as the Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress, Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, African-American Pamphlets 1824-1909, and Slaves and the Courts 1740-1860.
American Radicalism Collection
Includes materials covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues in America. The emphasis is on materials produced by radical groups - both left and right.
This freely-accessible collection from UNC at Chapel Hill currently includes six digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, materials related to the church in the black community, and North Caroliniana.
Historical African American Newspapers
A pathfinder to digitized runs of historic African American newspapers.
An award-winning University of Virginia research project which interweaves the histories of two communities on either side of the Mason-Dixon line during the era of the American Civil War.
World History
British History Online
The digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
Europeana
Over 14 million digital items (images, texts, films) pertaining to European history and culture. Funded by the European Commission and the member states.
German History in Documents and Images
GHDI is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.
Perseus Digital Library
Originating out of the Classics Department at Tufts University, this Website now includes primary and secondary resources in Classics, the English Renaissance, etc.