LibGuides: Biology: Articles

Finding Articles

Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc.

In some cases, links to the full text are provided.

When links are not available, use the Journals tab on the Fondren Library website to find access points for journals in electronic format.

Some subscriptions are in paper format only; check Onesearch to search for journals not found online.

For indexes in other subject areas, see Fondren's list of Databases.

Remote Access

For information about remote access, please see the following link:

Remote Access

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 5,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes approximately 5,500 international journals related to virtually every life science discipline, including: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, environment, genetics, medicine, microbiology, neurology, and pharmacology. (Note: pop-up blocking must be disabled.) (1969-)
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Citations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.
Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database covers current ecology research, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction.
"Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment (ProQuest)."
Medline (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 4000 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Medline is prepared by the National Library of Medicine. (1985- )
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, substance data, chemical reactions, chemical regulatory data, and chemical suppliers. (1907- ) Registration required. Accounts available for Rice University faculty, students and staff. Apply for Scifinder account.

To learn more about the SciFinder-n platform, view the Quick Start guide.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database includes article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
Web of Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Includes three citation indexes: Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). SCI and SSCI have searchable author abstracts and each database may be searched by a variety of other accesses including who the author cites. Includes ISIHighlyCited: a directory of over 250 eminent researchers in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences and social sciences. (SCI 1900-)