Sport Management: Articles
Finding Articles
Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc.
- In some cases, links to the full text are provided.
- When links are not available, use the Journals tab on the Fondren Library website to find access points for journals in electronic format.
- Some subscriptions are in paper format only; check Webcat to search for journals not found online.
Databases
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 5,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. (1886-)
ERIC (via FirstSearch)
Contains over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. The sources it indexes include journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. (1966- updated monthly )
Health Reference Center Academic
Finds articles on such subjects as fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public Health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. (1996- )
MEDLINE(via Web of Knowledge)
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses (MeSH) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals (1985- updated monthly)
Physical Education Index
Indexes the scholarly and trade literature in physical education. Areas of coverage range from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered. (1970-)
PsycINFO
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1300 journals, and dissertations in more than 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded. (1806- )
PubMed
Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources including the PubMed Central digital archive. It's a free database provided by the National Library of Medicine.
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
Focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It's mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
SPORTDiscus
Contains information on the following: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment. (1975- )
Web of Knowledge (Web of Science, MEDLINE, Current Contents)
Integrates three citation indexes: Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). SCI and SSCI have searchable author abstracts and each database may be searched by a variety of other accesses including who the author cites. Includes ISIHighlyCited: a directory of over 250 eminent researchers in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences and social sciences. (SCI 1900- )
Remote Access
For information about remote access, please see the following link: