Atlantic World: Primary Sources

"Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography (Adam Matthew)."

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

"The Oliveira Lima Library has been lauded as the finest collection of Luso-Brazillian material available to U.S. scholars. With the core of its content derived from the "long" nineteenth century, this collection turns the spotlight on South America's largest and most influential power, covering topics such as: colonialism, missionaries, slave trade and abolition, economic development and agricultural trade, Indigenous Peoples, international relations, and the fight for Brazilian independence (Gale, includes parts 1 and 2)."

Diaries, maps, ship logs, and other documentation chronicling European maritime exploration from c. 1420 - 1920.

Administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and other documentation from the Colonial Office, as collected by the National Archive, UK.

Statistical records from Caribbean British colonies in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, listed by year.

"This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices (Adam Matthew)."