Igor Stravinsky Archive, 1908-1938: Books and Recordings
Manuscript collection, MS 753 in the Woodson Research Center
Using the Brown Fine Arts Library
You can find more information about Igor Stravinsky, his life and music, in our general music colleciton.
The music collection is housed in the Fondren Library and consists of over 100,000 music-related items in all formats.
Music scores, books, and periodicals, are located on Fondren’s third floor in the Brown Fine Arts Library. Sound and video recordings, and print course reserves are kept at the first floor Circulation Desk. Listening equipment is in the Brown Fine Arts Library and on the first floor near the circulation desk.
Materials that are located in the Library Service Center (LSC) can be paged and brought to the Fondren Library by Rice users and visitors; visitors should use this form.
The Stravinsky archive is kept in the Woodson Research Center, the library's special collections and archives department. The WRC is open Mon-Fri 9am-4pm.
Selected Biographies and Correspondence
- Themes and conclusions byCall Number: ML410 .S932 A39Publication Date: 1972
- Igor Stravinsky byCall Number: ML410 .S932 O45 1995Publication Date: 1995
- Dialogues and a diary [by] Igor and Robert Craft byCall Number: ML410.S932 A335 1968Publication Date: 1968
- Conversations with Igor Stravinsky byCall Number: ML410.S932 A33Publication Date: 1959
- Dearest Bubushkin : the correspondence of Vera and Igor Stravinsky, 1921-1954, with excerpts from Vera Stravinsky's diaries, 1922-1971 / edited by Robert Craft ; translated from the Russian by Lucia Davidova ; with 183 illustrations. byPublication Date: 1985
Igor Stravinsky by Call Number: ML410 .S932 I36 2014ISBN: 9782503553252Publication Date: 2014- Igor Stravinsky: an autobiographyCall Number: ML410 .S932 A22 1958Publication Date: 1958
Stravinsky in the Americas by Call Number: ML410 .S932 S614 2019ISBN: 9780520299924Publication Date: 2019
Nadia Boulanger and the Stravinskys by Call Number: ML423 .B52 A4 2018ISBN: 9781580465960Publication Date: 2018
Catalogs and bibliographies of Stravinsky's music
- Igor Stravinsky--the composer in the recording studio : a comprehensive discography byCall Number: ML156.5.S85 S88 1991Publication Date: 1991
- Igor Fedorovitch Stravinsky, 1882-1971; a practical guide to publications of his music by Dominique-Rene de Lerma assisted by Thomas J. Ahrens.Call Number: Music Reference ML134 .S96 D44Publication Date: 1974
- Igor Stravinsky : a complete catalogue byCall Number: Music Reference ML134 .S96 C3 1982Publication Date: 1982
- The music of Igor Stravinsky / Pieter C. van den ToornCall Number: ML410.S932 V36 1983Publication Date: 1983
- Igor Stravinsky : an international bibliography of theses and dissertations, 1925-2000 byCall Number: Music Reference ML113 .D4Publication Date: 2001
The Music
- Petrushka : sources and contexts / edited by Andrew WachtelCall Number: ML410 .S932 P43 1998Publication Date: 1998
Stravinsky's Pulcinella by Call Number: ML96.5 .S865 P85 2010ISBN: 9780895796431Publication Date: 2010- Igor Stravinsky, Le sacre du printemps : dossier de presse : press-book / réuni par François Lesure ; avec le concours de Gertraut Haberkamp, Malcolm Turner et Emilia ZanettiCall Number: ML410.S932 I28Publication Date: 1980
- The rite of spring = Le sacre du printemps : sketches, 1911-1913 / Igor Stravinsky.Call Number: ML96.5 .S865 1969Publication Date: 1969
- L'oiseau de feu : fac-similé du manuscrit Saint-Pétersbourg, 1909-1910 / Igor Stravinsky ; études et commentaires par Louis Cyr, Jean-Jacques Eigeldinger, Pierre Wissmer ; publié par le Conservatoire de musique de Genève à l'occasion du cent cinquantièmeCall Number: ML96.5 .S865 Z47 1985 (library use only)Publication Date: 1985
Le sacre du printemps : facsimile of the autograph full score / Igor Stravinsky ; edited by Ulrich Mosch ; with an introduction in German and English.Call Number: ML96.5 .S865 V47 2013Publication Date: 2013
Stravinsky conductin
Selected Recordings
- Igor Stravinsky editionCall Number: CD AEK2814Publication Date: Sony Classical 1991
- Igor Stravinsky in USSRCall Number: CD 321-2891Publication Date: Prago 2016
- Danses concertantes (1942) ; Arr. of Sibelius's Canzonetta op. 62a (1964) ; Suite de Pulcinella : 1949 version / Igor Stravinsky.Call Number: CD 140-7863Publication Date: Bis 1985
- L'oiseau de feuCall Number: CD 229-3624Publication Date: BR Klassik 2009
- Le Sacre du printemps (1913) ; Petrouchka (1911) / Igor Stravinsky.Call Number: CD 291-6822Publication Date: Arles : Musicales Actes Sud 2014
- Les noces Pribaoutki ; Berceuses du chat ; Chansons russes ; Quatre chansons paysannes / Stravinsky.Call Number: CD 140-7862Publication Date: Adès 1988
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University