Music - Double Bass: Resource Guide for the Double Bass
Call numbers and subject headings for double bass music
| Solo unaccompanied | M57-M58 |
| Solo with piano or continuo | M237-M238 |
| Double bass sonatas | M238 |
| Solo with full orchestra |
M1018 |
| Solo with string orchestra |
M1118 |
| String duets | M286-M287 |
| String trios | M350-M351 |
| String quartets, quintets (etc.) | M452-M552 |
|
Piano trios, quartets, quintets (etc.) |
M312, M412, M512 |
|
Trios, quartets, quintets (etc.) for piano plus two (three, four etc.) string(s) plus wind(s) |
M322, 422, 522 (etc.) |
|
Trios, quartets, quintets (etc.) for stringed and wind instruments |
M362, 462, 562 |
|
Trios, quartets, quintets (etc.) for stringed and plucked instruments |
M372, 472, 572 |
|
Trios, quartets, quintets (etc.) for stringed, plucked and wind instruments |
M382, 482, 582 |
|
Orchestral Music |
M1001-M1004 |
| Instructional works, studies, etudes, etc. | MT320, MT330-331 |
| Biographies of string players | ML398, ML418 |
| Books about stringed instruments | ML398-ML756 |
| Books about the double bass |
ML920 |
Subject headings for double bass music and books (search by subject or keyword in Webcat)
For books:
- double bass music
- double bass and [viola, horn, etc.]
- double bass with [band, orchestra, etc.]
- double bass music (double basses ((2))
- concertos double bass
- sonatas double bass
double bass– Bibliography
double bass music – Bibliography
double bass – History
double bass music -- History and criticism
double bassists - Biography
double bass -- Instruction and study
double bass -- Studies and exercise
double bass -- Orchestra studies
Music Periodical and Literature Indexes
Use these databases to find books and articles about music by topic.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowThe Music Index Online contains citations from more than 640 international music journals including history, theory, performance, ethnomusicology, education, and popular music. It also includes citations for dissertations, reviews, and obituaries. (1969-)
- RILM - Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowIndexes books, articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses and other literature in the field of music, from 1969 to present.
The RILM contains over 560,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Approximately 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more. - Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)) This link opens in a new windowThis database draws its current content from nearly 400 international music periodicals from over 30 countries, and also indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post.
Double Bass periodicals in Fondren (online fulltext)
- The Strad1995 - present
- American String Teacher1996 - present.
- Strings1998 - present
Double bass periodicals in Fondren Library (print subscriptions)
- American String TeacherCall Number: ML1 .A581990-present. Some volumes incomplete. See record for details.
- Bass world : the journal of the International Society of BassistsCall Number: ML1 .I6151974 - present
- Double BassistCall Number: MT320 .D6
Subject Guide
Double Bass
