Full-Text Access Made Easy: LibKey Nomad
What is LibKey Nomad?
Now available from Fondren Library – LibKey Nomad! This easy to install browser plug-in grants you instant access to millions of research articles online. Nomad will activate on scholarly websites like Google Scholar, PubMed, Wikipedia, and hundreds of publisher websites to quickly connect you to full text.
Have you ever been frustrated by a paywall on a publisher website? Or irritated by the number of clicks to check for full text in PubMed? LibKey Nomad will instantly check for full text availability from the library and present you with the single best and fastest link to download the PDF, view the article, or request it from the library if it is not immediately available.
Available for Chrome, Edge, Firefox, and other browsers, download LibKey Nomad today to unlock our subscriptions on the open web. Follow our step-by-step guide for quick installation below!
Getting Started
1.) Install Libkey Nomad by visiting https://libkeynomad.com and clicking the “Get LibKey Nomad Now” button to select your preferred browser and download.
2.) Click the Extensions icon in your browser and then click Libkey Nomad.
3.) Search and click "Rice University - Fondren Library" to connect Libkey Nomad to Fondren resources.
4.) Start browsing! Now when a supported page contains resources to which Fondren provides access, you'll see quick links for easy access to individual resources.
Download PDF allows you save a PDF that Fondren provides access to. The graduation cap icon allows you to export the article's citation to the reference manager of your choice.
Article Link directs you to a new page where Fondren provides access to the article.
Access Options means that Fondren does not yet provide access to the article, and you will be routed to our Interlibrary Loan department where you may request a copy.
Libkey Nomad will also notify you when an article has been retracted.
LibKey will provide you with the official retraction notice, retraction details, and options for full-text access.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will I need to be logged in to access resources via LibKey Nomad?
Yes, authentication is still required in order to access library resources. If you have not already logged in, you will be prompted to authenticate before you can access full text resources.
What kind of data does LibKey collect?
You can read more about their data collection practices at the Third Iron Privacy Policy page.
What if I want to pause LibKey temporarily?
LibKey has a few settings you can customize by clicking on the browser extension. "Options" allows you to pause LibKey, adjust the button placement, and more.
Need Help? Ask Us!
Need help using LibKey or finding online resources? Ask us!
Email: ask@rice.libanswers.com
Phone: 713-348-5698
Text: 713-487-6912