PTRC: Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights: Resources for RU
Resources at Rice University
- Rice Alliance for Technology and Entrepreneurship (Rice Alliance)The Rice Alliance a nationally-recognized initiative devoted to supporting entrepreneurship education, commercializing technology and launching technology companies.
- OwlSparkOwlSpark was founded to ignite a passion for entrepreneurship within the Rice community, providing hands-on experiences and a roadmap from innovation to commercialization.
- Liu Idea Lab for Innovation & Entrepreneurship (lilie)Rice University's home for entrepreneurship and innovation experiential learning and co-curricular activities.
- Office of InnovationEstablished to help tie all of the different innovation and entrepreneurship departments across Rice together, to unify and support the resources and infrastructure that bring Rice research to market.
- Office of Technology Transfer (OTT) at Rice UniversityOTT assists faculty, staff and students with commercializing technology they created and developed at Rice.
- Rice University PatentsThe institutional repository of all granted patents by Rice inventors (faculty, students and staff) that list Rice University as the original assignee (owner).
- Rice University IP PolicyRead the university policy regarding IP, its ownership, administration, and other related policies.
How to Make Patent Drawings by Call Number: T223 .U3 L6 2015ISBN: 1413326331Publication Date: 2019-06-28
The ABA Consumer Guide to Obtaining a Patent by Call Number: KF3120 .Z9 G65 2016ISBN: 9781634256070Publication Date: 2016-11-07
Patents Demystified by Call Number: KF3114 .A73 2015ISBN: 9781634251679Publication Date: 2015-12-07
The Inventor's Bible, Fourth Edition by Call Number: HF5415.153 .D63 2015ISBN: 9781607749271Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Tutorials
- WIPO PATENTSCOPE TrainingRegister for upcoming training webinars using WIPO's PATENTSCOPE Search system.
- USPTO WebinarsSchedule of upcoming patent-focused webinars from the USPTO headquarters and regional offices.
- EPO e-Learning CentreFrom the European Patent Academy; sign up for future webinars or watch on-demand training. Some may have associated fees.
- WIPO TutorialsView the video tutorials from WIPO on various topics across the entire patent process.
Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790— and is a good source for foreign newspapers. *Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window Reaxys is a web-based resource that combines the content of CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database and offers reaction searching, synthesis, and visualization, as well as an extensive repository of experimentally validated data including structures, reactions and physical properties drawn from selected source publications of relevance to synthetic chemists.
- Medline (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Contains over 16,950,000 records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database includes article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window Indexes the literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, substance data, chemical reactions, chemical regulatory data, and chemical suppliers. (1907- ) Registration required. Accounts available for Rice University faculty, students and staff. Apply for Scifinder account. To learn more about the SciFinder-n platform, view the Quick Start guide.
- WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window Westlaw provides intellectual property cases you can search for. Under Browse, there is a tab for Practice Areas. In it, there is "intellectual Property" link. You can try searching cases from this database.
- DNA Patent Database This database serves as a resource for policy makers and members of the general public interested in fields like genomics, genetics and biotechnology. The DNA Patent Database (DPD) contains a collection of DNA-based patents and patent applications issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and makes the full-text of such patents and applications available to users at no cost.
- PatSeq Finder (by lens.org) Sequence Search.
- Texas Historical Patents he Portal to Texas History includes patents from 1846 - 1911, with more being added as the project continues. Patents are indexed by inventor (creator) name and address, publication date (creation date), application date (submission date), patent number and more. Records include representative drawings and abstract.
- Official Gazette of the United States Patent Office, 1899-2002 Hathi Trust Digital Library
- Historical, Regional and Specialized Patent and Trademark Research List of resources for patent and trademark research provided by the PTRC Association website.
- List of All Known Patents Issued by Confederate Patent Office Project of an individual, Kenneth Dobyns, who wrote A History of the Early Patent Offices: the Patent Office Pony.
- Patent Models Index: National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institute A guide to the patent models collection of the National Museum of American History, SI, provided by the FDLP Electronic Collection Archive.
- Subject-matter index of patents for inventions issued by the United States Patent Office from 1790 to 1873, inclusive Resource accessed through the Internet Archive.
- Pre-1920 Patentee Search A database of pre-1920 historic patents by patent enthusiast Russ Allen, created by tracing references found in other patents. Search inventor or patentee names to find a particular person's patents. The site is a work in progress.
- Vintage Machinery This site is devoted to information on the history, restoration and use of vintage woodworking machinery. Compiled from contributions of content by thousands of members.
Working with Patents
- How to Read a U.S. PatentQueen's University explanation of how to read a U.S. utility patent.
- Tips for reading patents: a concise introduction for scientistsAn article published in the peer-reviewed journal "Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Patents".
- Anatomy of a Patent
An introduction to the contents of a U.S. utility patent created by UMass Amherst and Queens University.
- PatentsViewExplore 40 years of US patenting data with the PatentsView search tool. Filters and view options help explore trends in technology and among regions and individuals.
- Patent StatisticsThe Patent Technology Monitoring Team (PTMT) periodically issues general statistics and miscellaneous reports that profile patenting activity at the USPTO.
- Global DossierA single access point for file histories of relevant applications from participating IP offices around the world.
- How to Cite PatentsUniversity of Iowa Libraries patent citation guide, including ACS, Chicago, IEEE, CSE, and AMA styles.
- How to Cite PatentsUniversity at Buffalo Libraries patent citation guide, including ACS, APA, Chicago, IEEE, and MLA styles.
- Citing PatentsOntario Tech University Library's guide to patent citations and using citation managers.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University