CompendexThis link opens in a new windowThe electronic version of Engineering Index, Compendex indexes the engineering literature (part of Engineering Village platform). (Note: make sure to check Compendex under Select Database on the upper left of the database screen). Indexes the engineering literature. (1884- )
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790— and is a good source for foreign newspapers.
*Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic.
Nexis Uni offers an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ReaxysThis link opens in a new windowReaxys is a web-based resource that combines the content of CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database and offers reaction searching, synthesis, and visualization, as well as an extensive repository of experimentally validated data including structures, reactions and physical properties drawn from selected source publications of relevance to synthetic chemists.
Medline (ISI Web of Science)This link opens in a new windowContains over 16,950,000 records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowIndexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database includes article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
SciFinder-nThis link opens in a new windowIndexes the literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, substance data, chemical reactions, chemical regulatory data, and chemical suppliers. (1907- ) Registration required. Accounts available for Rice University faculty, students and staff. Apply for Scifinder account.
To learn more about the SciFinder-n platform, view the Quick Start guide.
WestlawNext Campus ResearchThis link opens in a new windowWestlaw provides intellectual property cases you can search for. Under Browse, there is a tab for Practice Areas. In it, there is "intellectual Property" link. You can try searching cases from this database.
Please remember to link to Westlaw Campus from the Rice website (after configuring for proxy) - Westlaw's security uses a combination of IP/computer address and a customer-specific URL. Using another library link just won't do!
DNA Patent DatabaseThis database serves as a resource for policy makers and members of the general public interested in fields like genomics, genetics and biotechnology. The DNA Patent Database (DPD) contains a collection of DNA-based patents and patent applications issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and makes the full-text of such patents and applications available to users at no cost.
Texas Historical Patentshe Portal to Texas History includes patents from 1846 - 1911, with more being added as the project continues. Patents are indexed by inventor (creator) name and address, publication date (creation date), application date (submission date), patent number and more. Records include representative drawings and abstract.
Pre 1920 Patentee SearchPatent enthusiast Russ Allen is creating a database of historic patents before 1920 by tracing them from references in other patents. Search inventor (patentee) names to find a particular person's patents. The site is a work in progress.
Vintage MachineThis site is devoted to information on the history, restoration and use of vintage woodworking machinery. Compiled through the generous contributions of content by thousands of dedicated members.
An introduction to the contents of a U.S. utility patent created by UMass Amherst and Queens University.
PatentsView"The PatentsView search tool allows users to explore 40 years of data on patenting activity in the US. Use the tool to discover technological, regional, and individual-level trends through several search filters and multiple view options."-- from PatentsView.
Patent StatisticsThe Patent Technology Monitoring Team (PTMT) periodically issues general statistics and miscellaneous reports that profile patenting activity at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).