History of Science: Special Topics: Home
Primary Sources & Archives
History of Science Book Collection at Woodson Research Center, Fondren Library
General Primary Sources at Rice
US Presidential Libraries: Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, Harry S. Truman Library,
Dwight D. Eisenhower Library, John F. Kennedy Library, Lyndon B. Johnson Library,
Richard Nixon Library, Jimmy Carter Library
American Meteorogical Society Library and Archives
Smithsonian Institution Archives and oral history interviews
Charles Babbage Institute: Center for the History of Computing
Center for the History of Physics
Contributions of 20th century women to physics
General Science Databases
Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
Science in the Making digitization Project from The Royal Society: An incredible range of materials created by over three centuries of publishing. Photographs from field trips, fascinating correspondence, peer reviews (including by Charles Darwin), scientific illustrations and the contributions of citizen scientists preserved in our collections are all available at Science in the Making.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
History of Science Databases/Journals
Biographical Memoirs of Fellows
Obituaries of Royal Society Fellows first appeared in 1830, in Proceedings of the Royal Society of London. Initially obituaries were read at the Anniversary meeting and were printed within the record of that meeting. From 1859 they appeared in a separate section at the back. Obituary Notices of Fellows of the Royal Society were published from 1932 as a continuation of these tributes. They then developed from being relatively short, traditional obituaries to biographical essays of record.
Philosophical Transactions, first published in 1665, pioneered the concepts of scientific priority and peer review which, together with archiving and dissemination, provide the model for almost 30,000 scientific journals today.
JSTOR
Back issues of core journals in many subject areas, including general science. Relevant titles are Philosophical Transactions: Biological Sciences, Philosophical Transactions: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences, Proceedings: Biological Sciences, Proceedings: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, and Science.
