Archives of the Impossible: Home

Archives of the Impossible oral histories available online with recordings and transcripts as a group.

Links to specific interviews:

• Jacques Vallee, 2021
• Stanley Krippner, 2021
• Brenda Denzler, 2021
• Richard Haines, 2020
• Whitley Strieber, 2020
• Edwin C. May, 2020

• Anne and Whitley Strieber Collection
  • ​Contains correspondence, transcripts related to The Communion, and correspondence and reviews of Strieber's other works.
• Jacques Vallee UFO and paranormal phenomena papers -- under embargo until 2028.
  • Background files include relevant topics, general cases, social trends, cults, related phenomena, scientific topics relevant to ufology, assembled by Vallee in support of his research over the years. Also contains field notes and press documents about related topics such as cattle mutilations, and face-to-face meetings of NIDS and BAASS, as well as various research proposals. Correspondence includes letters exchanged with Aime Michel, Dr. Hynek, Dr. Guerin, and many leading researchers and investigators, starting in the late 1950s to the mid 2010s. Analysis files include research studies, often field investigations or document research about specific UFO topics.
• Edwin C. May Laboratories for Fundamental Research papers 
  • ​Edwin C. May, a nuclear physicist by training, worked as a research scientist on the Cognitive Science Program, better known as Stargate, at Stanford Research Institute and Science Applications International Corporation from 1975 to 1985, and as project director from 1985 to 1995. His papers include memos, correspondence, videos of early experiments, and formal reports to U.S. government agencies which document the tenuous laboratory research and military applications responsible for developing the practice of remote viewing that the International Remote Viewing Association promotes today. A portion of this material has been digitized, as indicated on the guide linked above, primarily including fragile formats such as floppy disks and video.
• Stewart Alexander Collection
  • This collection includes archival material and circa 300 books and journals related to the career of Stewart Alexander, a medium, living in the UK. The primary content is recorded seances led by Stewart Alexander, which have been digitized.
• Richard F. Haines Ufology papers
  • ​The Richard F. Haines Ufology papers includes documents that cover the period between the 1970s and 2010s. It includes personal and professional correspondence, administrative documents of NARCAP and drafts of its research projects, Haines' own drafts and printouts for conference presentations. It also contains a large set of UFO photos with notes and photo analysis, and well as audio tapes with interviews of UFO witnesses. The audiotapes have been digitized.
• Brenda Denzler Ufology archive 
  • Newsclippings, reports and symposia, pop culture ephemera, book catalogs, and correspondence documenting public interest in ufology in the 1990s and 2000s.
• Stanley Krippner parapsychology publications archive
  • ​Print publications of Stanley Krippner, and related correspondence, arranged in order by date of publication.  Many of the folders in the first half of this collection (especially the earliest pubs) contain historically-valuable, ancillary documents that are related to that specific publication. For example, there are letters written between Prof. Krippner and the book editor or between authors of book chapters (often these are well-known individuals in their respective fields). There are also examples of hand-typed manuscripts and drafts of book chapters, research papers, and journal articles in some of the earlier folders, as well as research data and statistical evaluations.
• Jeffrey J. Kripal Academic Papers
  • The Jeffrey J. Kripal Papers mostly covers Kripal’s tenure at Rice University up to 2015 (and will eventually cover at least up to 2019) but also reaches as far back as 1970. It includes correspondence, unpublished manuscripts, course materials, and on-going research.
• Larry W. Bryant UFO research collection (103 boxes, rough sorted into categories, not fully processed)

  • The Larry W. Bryant UFO research collection contains personal papers such as correspondence, photographs, and articles written by Larry Bryant, as well as papers from his participation in UFO organizations like MUFON and CAUS, including board meeting minutes, budget notes, and quarterly reports.  A large section of the collection is devoted to Bryant’s research into ufology using court cases against the government and Freedom of Information Act requests to obtain files kept from the public, as well as extensive news clippings, website printouts, articles, magazines, journals, and newsletters.

• Paola Leopizzi Harris Ufology research collection (4 boxes, plus books, processing to begin Summer 2024)

• Clifford Stone Ufology research papers (processing to begin Summer 2024)

• Wendelle Stevens Ufology research papers 

  • Letters written to Stevens regarding UFOs, and including recordings, notes, reports, and publications. These materials had been maintained by the organization "Open Minds," after the death of Stevens.

• Dennis Stillings Bioelectromagnetics, Ufology, and related subjects research papers (digital collection)

  • Digital donation of paranormal research with topics ranging from parapsychology, bioelectromagnetism, health management, ufology, mythical and cryptid creatures. Much of this research spurred from the Archaeus Project which began as a discussion group in Earl Bakken's home. 

• Karen Everett source materials for documentary "AMERICAN VISIONARY: THE STORY OF BARBARA MARX HUBBARD"
  (Per donor requirement, will be open for research Jan. 1, 2025)

  • Born digital video-based materials

• John E. Mack archives  
  • Large primarily print collection of 150 boxes, with a companion archive located at Harvard University (also unprocessed as of Summer 2024). More descriptive information to come as processing begins. This collection is being digitized, and access will be explored as part of a rigorous Internal Review Board process due to the extensive amounts of sensitive and private data in the archives.