Livres d'artistes Collection: Photography: 21st Editions

While Man Ray’s 1923 Facile with poems by Paul Eluard is the only photography title in the Fondren Livres d’artistes collection, the library has a parallel book collection which combines original photographic prints with poetry or prose.  As with the Livres d’artistes collection, the purpose of collecting these limited edition photography books was to expose students to original photographs printed in processes no longer commonly used by contemporary photographers.  The collection was begun in 2010 and consists entirely of books published by 21^st Editions.   A brief history of this unique publishing venture follows.

As a publisher of fine art photography, 21^st Editions made its debut in 1998 by soliciting subscriptions to a new journal, 21^st : the Journal of Contemporary Photography (1998 –2004) which was inspired by Alfred Stieglitz’s groundbreaking journal, Camera Work.   Each volume contains photogravure images of work by emerging and well-known contemporary photographers accompanied by poetry, fiction, and critical essays.  In 2000 21^st Editions also began publishing limited edition monographs in the tradition of livres d’artistes with platinum, silver gelatin, and photogravure, and chine-colle gravure prints, photographic processes rarely used by contemporary photographers.   In 2018 the publishers announced that the 21^st Collection (1998-2018) was complete.  No additional photographic livres d’artistes would be published.  The National Gallery of Art has a complete set 21^st Editions Collection as does the University of Minnesota which also acquired the archives.

Of the 63 books and portfolios published in the 21^st Editions Collection, Fondren Library acquired 16 titles in addition to the deluxe edition of 21^st:: the Journal of Contemporary Photography.  The six volumes of the deluxe edition have a total of 64 hand pulled photogravures and 10 hand printed color planographs (waterless lithographs),

This list is arranged alphabetically by photographer.  Please consult the Fondren’s catalog for a complete bibliographic record which includes the colophon, edition notes, description of typographers, printers, compositors, binders, and other notes.  Most of the books are housed in the Library Service Center and may be requested via the catalog and consulted in the Woodson Research Center.

Albahari, Steven.  The Imponderable Heart of Meaning.  John Wood, poems.  South Dennis, Mass.: 21st Editions, 2014.  

Notes: The photographs are printed with platinum and palladium by Stan Klimek. 

LSC-SPECL PS3573 .O5946 I46 2014

Carnochan, Brigitte, Photographer.  The Shining Path a Poem by Raúl Peschiera.  Edited and with an introduction by John Wood.  South Dennis, Mass.: 21st published by Steven Albahari, 2006.

Notes:  Gelatin silver prints and hand-tinted print were printed by the photographer.

LSC-SPECL PR9325.9 .P47 S46 2006

Cunningham, Imogen.   Imogen Cunningham: Family.  Introduction by John Stauffer; edited by John Wood.  South Dennis, Massachusetts: 21st Editions, Steven Albahari, 2014.

Notes: Each set includes twenty Imogen Cunningham platinum Trust prints printed by John Marcy. The set also includes one vintage silver gelatin print from the personal collection of Imogen Cunningham selected by Meg Partridge, Director of the Imogen Cunningham trust.  The silver gelatin photograph selected for the Fondren Library copy is Self-portrait with my sons, 1927 and is numbered 10037. "This vintage print comes from Imogen's personal archive and was found in her file of family photographs.” 

LSC-SPECL TR140 .C78 A3 2014

Dobrowner, Mitch.  Mitch Dobrowner.  Edited by John Wood; with an essay by Dafydd Wood; published by Steven Albahari.  South Dennis, Mass.: 21st Editions, 2011.

Notes: Series:  Prism Book, no. 2.  

LSC-SPECL TR660.5 .D628 2011

Hayman, Jefferson.  The New City: A Poem by MacLean Gander.   Edited and with an introduction by John Wood.   Place of publication not identified: Steven Albahari, 21st Editions, 2008.

Notes:  The platinum prints were made under the guidance of Jefferson Hayman by John Marcy at 21st Editions.

LSC-SPECL PS3607 .A434 N49 2008

Hosoe, Eikoh.  Flowers of Evil = Les fleurs du mal.  Poems by Charles Baudelaire; translated from the French & with an introduction by John Wood; photographs and an afterword by Eikoh Hosoe.  South Dennis, Mass.: Published by Steven Albahari, 21st Editions, 2006.

Notes:  The platinum prints were made by Stan Klimek for Eikoh Hosie.

Woodson Research Center PQ2191 .F62 E5 2006

Kenna, Michael.  Huangshan: Poems from the T'ang Dynasty.  Translated by Stanton Hager, photographs by Michael Kenna, edited and with an introduction by John Wood.  South Dennis, Mass.: 21st Editions, 2010.

Notes:  The platinum prints were made for Michael Kenna by John Marcy at 21st Editions.

Woodson Research Center TR660.5 .K457 2010

Mann, Sally.   Sally Mann: Photographs and Poetry.  Edited by John Wood.  New York: Published by Steven Albahari, 21^st, 2006.

Notes:  The platinum prints were printed by Stan Klimek.

LSC-SPECL TR654 .M33585 2005

Mann, Sally.  Southern Landscape. Introduction and reflections John Stauffer; John Wood editor.  Steven Albahari publisher.  Cape Cod, Massachusetts: 21st Editions, 2014.

Notes:  "Fourteen photographs printed with platinum, palladium, and gold.  The prints were created ... by John Marcy.”

LSC-SPECL TR659.5 .M36 2014

Masao, Yamamoto.  Yamamoto Masao.  Edited with an introduction and assembled by John Wood.  South Dennis, Mass.: 21st Editions, 2010-2011.

Notes:  "The Deluxe Edition book consists of two volumes hand-bound in silk. One is the Prism book; the other includes twelve platinum num prints [mounted on pages] and a poem, as well as three loose silver-gelatin prints, all signed by the artist."--Publisher's website.

Woodson Research Center TR655 .Y36 2010

Metzner, Sheila.  The Bridge by Hart Crane.  Introduction by John Wood.  New York: 21st, Published by Steven Albahari, 2008.

Notes:  The platinum prints were made by John Marcy.

LSC-SPECL PS3505 .R272 B7 2008 

Partridge, Rondal.  The Symmetry of Endeavor. Introduction and poems by John Wood. South Dennis, Massachusetts: 21st Editions, 2013.

Notes:  Platinum prints, each signed by the photographer on a label mounted on the back of the print. Vintage print is signed by photographer.  "The Platinum prints were printed for the artist by John Marcy. The vintage platinum print was printed by Rondal Partridge.”

LSC-SPECL TR654 .P3377 2013

Scabo, Josephine.  Gilded Circles and Sure Trouble: The Art of Josephine Sacabo and Keagan LeJeune.  South Dennis, MA.: 21st Editions, Steven Albahari, 2012

Description:  Unique handcrafted set contains ten signed chine-collé photogravures by Josephine Sacabo, a letterpress book with an introduction by John Wood and poetry by Keagan LeJeune inspired by Sacabo's work and illustrated with ten platinum prints”. 

LSC-SPECL TR655 .S153 2012

Tice, George.  The Janus Turn. Text by Adam Johnson, essay by John Wood.  South Dennis, Mass.: Steven Albahari, 21st Editions, 2015.

Notes:  Each set includes fourteen original signed platinum prints, twelve of which are bound and two that are freestanding"—Colophon

LSC-SPECL TR726 .T7 T53 2015

Uelsmann, Jerry.  Moth and Bonelight.  Poems by Steven Brown and photographs by Jerry Uelsmann; edited and with an introduction by John Wood and with an essay by Lance Speer.  South Dennis, Mass. : Steven Albahari, 21st Editions, 2010.

Notes:  Portfolio consists of 10 platinum prints by Jerry Uelsmann with 20 poems by Steven Brown, 10 of which were written specifically to accompany the photographs.  The photographs were created by Jerry Uelsmann and contact-printed in platinum/palladium metals by John Marcy with the guidance of Jerry Uelsmann.

LSC-SPECL TR685 .U349 2010

Webb, Todd.  New York, 1946.  Edited and with an introduction by John Stauffer.  South Dennis, Massachusetts: Steven Albahari-21st Editions-John Wood, 2015.

Notes:  "Limited to twenty-eight numbered and seven lettered sets ... includes fifteen bound and three loose platinum Estate prints, printed by John Marcy ... also includes two vintage, signed silver gelatin prints"--Colophon.

LSC-SPECL TR653 .W423 2015