LibGuides: Music Microforms in Fondren: Home

About this guide

The music microform collections are reproductions of important primary sources in the history of music, including music manuscripts, early printed editions, early music periodicals, drawings, correspondence, and other documents.

Using the Collections

The Fondren microform collection is housed in two places. Some microforms are kept in the Government Publications Department in the Fondren Library basement, 713-348-5483. A large portion of the microform collection is kept in the off-campus Library Service Center. For information about using these collections, check here. For more information about the music microform collections, contact the music librarian at 713-348-2593. or mdumont@rice.edu.

Music Periodicals

Music periodicals, 1722-1840, from the Musikbibliothek der Stadt Leipzig, Adam Matthew Publ., ML4 .M87 Guide

American Periodical Series.

Pt. 1 18^th century, AP2 .A2 A81
Pt. 2 1800-1850, AP2 .A38
Pt. 3 1850-1900, AP2 .A381

Issues of American periodicals published during the above time periods. All subject areas are covered. Indexes many early music periodicals. Guide and index at Gov-Micro AP2 .A38, and in Reference at Ref Z6951 .H65. Also online as part of C19: The Ninteenth Century Index. (Rice access only)

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
Finding aids and bibliographic information for books, periodicals, newspapers, and other publications from the nineteenth century, in literature, law, history, then-contemporary issues, and other subjects.
Included sources:
- Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue
- The Nineteenth Century
- American Periodicals
- British Periodicals
- Cotgreave's Index
- An Index to Legal Periodical Literature
- Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811-1849
- Periodicals Index Online
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
- Stead's Index to Periodical Literature
- The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
- Proceedings of the Old Bailey
- The U.S. Serial Set
- Archive Finder
- Palmer's Index to The Times
- The "Bookman" Directory of Booksellers, Publishers and Authors
- Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism

Music Manuscripts

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Harvester Press/Research Publications et al.

Series 1: Bodleian Library, M2 .B63 Guide

Series 2: St. Michael’s College, Tenbury, M2 .S24 1986 Guide

Series 3: Christ Church, Oxford, M2.3 .E6 O9 1981 Guide

Series 4: British Library, M2 .B75 Guide

Series 5: Royal College of Music, M2 .R69 Guide

Series 6: Cambridge Libraries (Cambridge Univ. Library, Ely Cathedral, King’s College, Fitzwilliam Museum) M2 .C36 Guide

Series 7: Royal Academy of Music, M2.3 .E6 Guide

Series 8: Gerald Coke Handel Collection M2 .G47 1987 Guide

Series 9: Music collections of chapel and cathedral libraries. Pt. 1: The music collection of St. George's Chapel, Windsor, M2 .C36 1987 Guide

European Music Manuscripts in the British Library: Austrian, French, German, Russian, Spanish, and Other European Music, c. 1640-1820, Primary Source Media. M2 .B75 E95

Italian Music Manuscripts in the British Library, Harvester Press. Guide

Section A: c. 1640-1720, M2 .B75 I8

Section B: c. 1720-1740, M2 .B75 I82

Section C: c. 1740-1770, M2 .B75 I83

Section D: c. 1770-1820, M2 .B75 I84

Autograph Music Manuscripts from the Musikbibliothek der Stadt Leipzig, Adam Matthew Publications; Bach, Haydn, Handel and Mendelssohn, autograph letter of Mendelssohn and Robert and Clara Schumann, M2 .M88 L45 2002. Guide

Musikhandschriften der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Preussitzer Kulturbesitz, K.G. Saur.

Pt. 1: Bach collection from the Archiv der Sing-Akademie zu Berlin, M2 .S86 P7 B32 1997

Pt. 2: Telemann collection, M2 .S86 T35 2001

Pt. 3: Beethoven collection, M2 .S86 P7 B4 2002

Die Bach-Sammlung aus dem Archiv der Sing-Akademie zu Berlin [electronic resource] : Depositum Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin. K. G. Saur, 8 CD-ROMS M2 .S86 P7 B32 2002 (ask for these at the 1st floor circulation desk); Also on microfiche at the same call number. Print guide in the Brown Fine Arts Reference stacks at ML136 .B4 B32 1997.

Die Sammlung Hoboken in der Musiksammlung der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek. Teil 2, Joseph Haydn. Olms, microfiche ML31 .H622 1991

Die Drucke Der Bach-Söhne der Hoboken-Sammlung [microform] Österreichische Nationalbibliothek. Musiksammlung Sig. Anthony van Hoboken.
ML31 .H623 1991

Musikhandschriften der Staats- und Stadtbibliothek Augsburg, H. Fischer, M2 .A93 1997

Musickdrucke der Staats- und Stadtbibliothek Augsbug, 1488-1630, H. Fischer, ML138 .A92 S82 2000

Early Music, Adam Matthew, ML136 .P45 E37

Pt. 1 Pembroke Choirbooks and other music manuscripts from Pembroke College, Cambridge. Guide

Pt. 2 Music Manuscripts, 1500-1793, from the National Library of Scotland. Guide

Gilbert and Sullivan, Adam Matthew, ML410 .S95 A3 Guide

Pt. 1 Correspondence, diaries, literary manuscripts, and prompt copies of W.S. Gilbert from the British Library.

Subject Guide

Keith Chapman

Treatises

History of Music, 1400-1800, ML136 .H37 H57. Microfilm reproductions of early printed music and music treatises in the Houghton and Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Libraries, Harvard University.

Technical Drawings of Musical Instruments in Public Collections of the World, MMF Publications. ML461 .T43

Printed Music

Women Composers’ Collection, University of Michigan Library, Research Publications, M2 .W88 1998 View Guide to the Series

Wilhelm Fürtwangler’s Annotated Conducting Scores, IDC, 1999, M1000 .F87 v. 1-10

Filmed from the original held by the Zentralbibliothek, Zürich.

French Opera Scores: Collection of the Théâtre français de la Haye, IDC, M1500 .T47 1983