Music - Piano: Resource Guide for the Piano
Call numbers and subject headings for piano music
| Collections of keyboard music | M21 |
| Collections of piano music | M22 |
| Piano sonatas, arranged alphabetically by composer | M23 |
| Suites | M24 |
| Character pieces | M25 |
| Music for the left hand | M26 |
| Variations | M27 |
|
Dances |
M30 |
| Waltzes | M32 |
| Arrangements and transcriptions | M33 |
| Piano duets (one piano, 4 hands) | M201-208 |
| Music for two pianos | M211-215 |
| Piano concertos, full score | M1010 |
| Piano concertos, orchestral part arranged for second piano | M1011 |
| Books about the piano | ML650 |
| Books about piano and keyboard music | ML700 |
| Etudes, teaching pieces, treatises | MT242-252 |
Subject headings for piano music and books (search by subject or keyword in Webcat)
For books:
- piano music (yields solo piano music)
- piano music 4 hands (yields piano duets)
- piano music pianos 2 (yields music for 2 pianos)
- piano with orchestra
- concertos piano
- sonatas piano
- piano--studies and exercises
- piano
- piano--bibliography
- piano--construction
- piano--history
- piano--instruction and study
- piano--methods
- piano--performance
- pianists
Music Periodical and Literature Indexes
Use these databases to find books and articles about music by topic.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowThe Music Index Online contains citations from more than 640 international music journals including history, theory, performance, ethnomusicology, education, and popular music. It also includes citations for dissertations, reviews, and obituaries. (1969-)
- RILM - Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowIndexes books, articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses and other literature in the field of music, from 1969 to present.
The RILM contains over 560,000 citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Approximately 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more. - Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)) This link opens in a new windowThis database draws its current content from nearly 400 international music periodicals from over 30 countries, and also indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post.
Piano periodicals in Fondren Library (print subscriptions)
- Piano Technician’s JournalCall Number: ML1 .P681983 - present. Some volumes incomplete, see record for details. Also on CD-ROM.
- Piano Technicians Journal (CD-ROM)Call Number: Circulation Desk ML1 .P682 20001979-1999 on 4 CDs.
- ClavierCall Number: ML1 .C791962- 2008. Ceased with: vol. 47, no. 6 (Sept./Oct. 2008). Merged with: Keyboard companion, to form: Clavier companion.
- Keyboard CompanionCall Number: MT220 .K491991 - 2008. Some issues incomplete, see record for details. Ceased with: Vol. 19, no. 3 (autumn 2008). Merged with: Clavier, to form: Clavier companion.
Subject Guide
Piano periodicals in Fondren (online fulltext)
- Keyboard1996 - present
- Early Keyboard Journal2006 - present.
- Piano Today2003 - present
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University