LibGuides: Psychology: Articles & Databases

Searching for Psychology articles at Fondren

If you want to search for scholarly/academic articles, the simplest way is to start with OneSearch. This will give a general overview. You can search by article title, author, or keyword/subject right in the big search box.

Once you have a list of search results, filter them using the options on the left-hand side.

On this page, we also have lists of our main psychology databases and Google Scholar linking information. We also have information on accessing our newspaper subscriptions and collections.

Psychology and Cognitive Science Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Containing over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, the database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, sociology, education, linguistics, and other areas. Provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields.
APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
This database contains citations and abstracts from a wide range of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 600 full text journals, and topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, and observational and experimental methods.
MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to publications of the MIT Press in the area of cognitive psychology.
PubMed @ Rice This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to many sites providing free full text articles and other related resources including the PubMed Central digital archive.

Accessing Rice-provided articles in Google Scholar

Be sure and set your Scholar preferences so you can get to Rice-provided articles from off-campus.

Navigate to scholar.google.com
Click on the three lines to open the menu
Navigate to Settings
Navigate to Library Links
Search for "Rice University"
Check the box next to Rice University - ViewIt@Rice
Add additional libraries if you have access to others, including public libraries
Done! You will now see Rice's links to articles in Google Scholar