African Studies: Home
African studies
Where to Start
- African Studies - Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowBibliographies on topics in African Studies, including art, culture, history, religion, and politics on the continent and in the diaspora, with links to full-text resources where available in Fondren's collection.
- African Research Online This link opens in a new windowSearch platform combining African Studies Companion Online and Africa Yearbook Online.
- African Studies Companion This link opens in a new windowSearchable reference work with guides and other resources on African languages, films, print and broadcast media, culture, archives, libraries, and other cultural and academic centers.
- AfricaBibIndexes African periodicals, Including "Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature" with over 184,000 records. Also contains the following bibliographic databases:
African Women; Women Travelers to Africa;
Islam in Africa; Kenya Coast; Water and Africa;
Education in Africa
- African History - Oxford Research Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowReference articles covering African history from prehistoric times to recent political, religious, and cultural movements.
Subject Guide
Digital Libraries
- AlukaA digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.
- The Zamani ProjectAn African cultural heritage and landscape database
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University