Asian American Materials in Special Collections: Home

Chuan-Hua Gershom Lowe, National Party, Chinese diplomat papers, 1923-1996 (MS 588)

The collection consists of the correspondence, papers, and selected books accumulated and saved by Chuan-Hua Gershom Lowe throughout his lifetime as student, journalist, Chinese embassy official, librarian, husband, and father. Lowe was born in China in 1902, earned a bachelor’s degree at the University of Chicago, lived again in China, in Burma, in India, in Argentina, in Canada, and again in the U.S., dying in 1996. (5 boxes)

Anthony Guevara Filipino American event programs (MS 803)
The collection consists of materials from participation in activities of the Philippino-American community in Houston, Texas. These include programs of galas and other events; a media kit of the Fil Am Press; the Philippine Centennial Review; information about the Philippine Cultural Center, Inc.; Newspapers; a national convention [program; items related to Filippino American World War II veterans; and an oath of commitment to the Filippino American Council of South Texas.

Betty Fong Chinese-American family photographs (MS 851)
Family photos of the Gor, Chow, and Fong families, with 2 pages of biographical information.

Helen Wong Hom World War II Chinese American scrapbook and printed materials, 1944-1998, bulk 1944-1947, (MS 641)

This collection includes a scrapbook created by Helen Wong Hom during her time in San Antonio during World War II, associated with the FAB-100 officers and friends. Helen Wong Hom appears to have been associated with the first group of the U.S. Foreign Affairs Bureau's group of 100 Chinese officers who later became known as the FAB-100. Many of these officers served as interpreters, translators, and trained others in aviation and radio mechanics. (1 box)
 

Charles C. Winnia Philippine American War papers, 1883-1929 (MS 132)
The Charles C. Winnia Philippine American War papers, 1883-1929, consist of eight boxes of correspondence, personal papers, and papers relating to Winnia's military career; photographs, post cards and other miscellaneous items; newspapers and newspaper clippings. Oversize material includes military maps and commissions.

Christy Poisot Filipino-American materials (MS 912)
The materials in this collection reflect the activities of the Houston Filipino American community, over several generations. These activities include political and historical achievements, such as Filipino American WWII Soldier Recognition project materials, Filipino Veterans of World War II Congressional Gold Medal Act celebrations; celebrating Filipino American History Month; as well as cultural resources such as a community cookbook, and a Filipino American history book. 

Cybil Pallunga-Saenz "Halo Halo TV" recordings of Filipino-American events in Houston (MS 949)
Possibly the first Filipino TV show in Houston, “Halo Halo TV” now exists as a web series, “Halo Halo Houston”--both focusing on Filipinx culture within the Houston Metropolitan area. Donated by the producer of the show, Cybil Pallugna-Saenz, this collection contains original recordings for the show, which made great strides of Filipino media representation in the early 2000s.

C.Y. Chu Chinese American photographs, and trade and immigration documents
Financial records documenting the career and activities of C. Y. Chu. Also included are C. Y. Chu's 1917 middle school diploma, a 1926 U.S. Dept. of Labor return permit, and more. Photographs of family events and business gatherings. People pictured include C.Y. Chu, Albert Gee, Mr. Parker Gee, Ms. Wanto Chu, Mabel Gee, Mrs. Wing Hon (mother of Judy Gee Chong), Theresa Gee (mother of Rogene Gee Calvert), Helen Gee (wife of Shelton Gee), Shelton Gee, Mamie Gee (wife of Judge Ron Lew, 1st Asian American Federal Judge in the US), and others. Groups include Chinese Baptist Church First Anniversary, Oct. 3, 1954 Chinese Business Men's Dinner, at Timmy Chan Restaurant, Aug. 5, 1956, Houston, TX, unidentified men's dinner group possibly in Albert Gee's Poly-Asian Restaurant, unidentified dinner group at unidentified restaurant. (1 box)

Dr. George C.Y. Chiou ophthalmology career publications and papers (MS 852)
The collection consists of records, news coverage, and materials from the career of Regents Professor Emeritus Dr. George C. Y. Chiou.

Flor Guinhawa Filipino-American history books and gala programs (MS 846)
21 bound event programs, 2006-2016.

George Gee family photographs and papers, 1961-2008 (MS 721)
Photographs, certificates, awards and more, documenting the financial and insurance services career of George Gee, who was a member of long time member of the Asian American community in Houston, Texas. George Gee family members and various politicians are pictured. (4 boxes)

Glenda Joe / Houston Asian American community advocacy and festival arts records (MS 667)
Records documenting the activities of Glenda Joe with the Houston Asian American Festival Association, as well as with community advocacy issues concerning the Asian American communities in Houston, circa 1980-2015. (23 boxes)

 Josephine Jue Chinese-American photographs collection (MS 724)
Family photograph of Hinhun Jow, Mee Oy Jow, Josephine Jue, Mylew High, Vance Jow, Sonny Jow, and Houston Jow in 1947. Photograph of the Chinese Baptist Church of Houston charter members, circa 1985. Digital version of photograph of family friends, Photograph of Mr. Gee, Joyce Gee, Mayling Hew, and Marymay Hong taken at Crawford Street, 1946. (1 folder of photographs)

Braes Republican Women's Club records, 1980-2009 (MS 601)

Chen Family Collection, 1920-2010 (MS 561)

Gene and Hedy Lee Chinese newspapers and photographs, 1962-2010 (MS 556)