LibGuides: Middle Eastern Studies: Reference Sources

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of Islam Online This link opens in a new window
This resource sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture (Brill). Access includes: 1) Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition (1913-1936); 2) Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, plus Glossary and Index of Terms; 3) Encyclopaedia of Islam, Three; and 4) Historical Atlas of Islam.
"The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. It is published in five substantial segments each year, both online and in print. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world (Brill).
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures reflects current research in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.
Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Users can perform automatic bibliographic searches in the International Medieval Bibliography Online. International Encyclopaedia of the Middle Ages Online is a supplement to Lexikon des Mittelalters online, providing original articles that cover the time period 300-1500 CE, in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.

Online Dictionaries

Hayyim New Persian Dictionary
"New Persian-English dictionary, complete and modern, designed to give the English meanings of over 50,000 words, terms, idioms, and proverbs in the Persian language, as well as the transliteration of the words in English characters. Together with a sufficient treatment of all the grammatical features of the Persian Language."
Aryanpour Persian Dictionary
"Aryanpour Persian dictionary is a comprehensive English to Persian dictionary with a robust multi language Farsi translator tool that easily translates texts and documents from one language to the other with definitions and synonyms that you can understand."
Lughatuna Arabic Dictionary
"This site is an effort to show Arabic as a living language by allowing users to search in both a Classical Arabic dictionary and a dialect dictionary at the same time."
Lane's Arabic Lexicon
The Arabic-English Lexicon was compiled by Edward William Lane and published in eight volumes in 19th century.

Print Materials

Encyclopedias:

Meisami, Julie Scott, and Paul Starkey. Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature / Edited by Julie Scott Meisami and Paul Starkey. New York: Routledge, 1998. Print.

Dictionaries:

Arts, Tressy. Oxford Arabic Dictionary : Arabic-English · English-Arabic / Chief Editor Tressy Arts = Qāmūs Uksfūrd Al-ʻArabī : ʻArabī-Injilīzī · Injilīzī-ʻArabī / Raʼīsat Al-Taḥrīr Trīsī Arts. First edition. Oxford ;: Oxford University Press, 2014. Print.

Wehr, Hans, and J Milton Cowan. A Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic : (Arabic-English) / Hans Wehr ; Edited by J. Milton Cowan. Fourth edition, enlarged and amended. Ithaca, N.Y: Spoken Language Services, 1994. Print.