LibGuides: Human Rights &amp; Genocide: Slavery &amp; Human Trafficking

International Labor Organization (ILO)

ILO Statistics & Databases
"The only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States , to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men." (ILO) Some of their migration related topisc include:
Labour Migration
Forced labour, modern slavery and human trafficking

Papers of the American Slave Trade

Call Number: E445 .R4 P37 microfilm

Inward Slave Manifests, 1807-1860 (Port of New Orleans, LA)

Call Number: HJ6637 .L5 U5 microfilm

Outward Slave Manifests, 1812-1860 (Port of New Orleans, LA)

Call Number: HJ6637 .L5 U52 microfilm

Registers and Letters Received by the Commissioner of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands 1865-72

Call Number: E185.2 .A4 microform

Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration

Print Guide: Gov Ref F215 .R42

Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1929

Call Number: E185.63 .B63 microfilm

Peonage Files of the U.S. Department of Justice, 1901-1945

Call Number: HD4875 .U5 P46 microform

Slave Voyages: Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Contains information on more than 36,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history through documents, interactive maps, timelines, and animations.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
This archive "includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions." (Gale) Rice University owns access to the following modules: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: The Institution of Slavery; and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
"Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography." (Adam Matthew)

Slave Movement During the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries
"This site provides access to the raw data and documentation which contains information on the following slave trade topics from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries: records of slave ship movement between Africa and the Americas, slave ships of eighteenth century France, slave trade to Rio de Janeiro, Virginia slave trade in the eighteenth century, English slave trade (House of Lords Survey), Angola slave trade in the eighteenth century, internal slave trade to Rio de Janeiro, slave trade to Havana, Cuba, Nantes slave trade in the eighteenth century, and slave trade to Jamaica."
Dutch Atlantic connections: the circulation of people, goods and ideas in the Atlantic world, 1600-1795
The database "Dutch Atlantic connections" gives information on 7666 journeys made by Dutch ships in the 17th and 18th centuries. These include ships of the Dutch West India Company, Dutch naval ships returning from the Caribbean, interlopers illegally operating in WIC monopoly territory, private traders sailing to the Caribbean, Africa, Suriname and New Netherland.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
"This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery... The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. We have gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We provide word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection." (HeinOnline)

Slavery and Manumission Manuscripts of Timbuktu
"Digitized versions of approximately 200 19th-century manuscripts (in Arabic) relating to slavery and manumission in Timbuktu. These provide documentation on Africans in slavery in Muslim societies."