Human Rights & Genocide: Multimedia
A guide to starting research on human rights topics
Films
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowA collection of films available to stream on demand from a variety of producers covering many different subject areas. Includes a growing collection of international films.
Note: If using a public PC in the library, users need to use Firefox. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStream educational and documentary videos, including the following collections: 1) Feature Films for Education; 2) World Cinema Collection; and 3) Science Video Collection.
- Colonial Film: Moving Images of the British Empire"Over 150 films are available for viewing online... Over 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical notes written by our academic research team... The ambition of this website is to allow both colonizers and colonized to understand better the truths of Empire."
- British Pathé This link opens in a new windowAn archive of videos covering newsreel, sports footage, social history documentaries, entertainment and music stories from 1896 to 1976.
- Digitalia Film Library: Latinoamerican Collection This link opens in a new windowThis Digitalia collection offers a diverse selection of films and documentaries from many Latin American countries.
- American Memory Project from the Library of Congress This link opens in a new windowA gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States from the Library of Congress.
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window"This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba." (Adam Matthew) It consists of:
Module I: Wars & Revolutions
Module II: Newsreels & Cinemagazines
Module III: Culture & Society
- Russian Film Hub"On Russian Film Hub, you can legally watch hundreds of Russian and Soviet movies with English subtitles for free. You can filter by genre, decade, director, and more. It’s much more convenient than crawling through uncategorized YouTube channels and different streaming websites – especially if you’re not fluent in Russian!"
Audio
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (FBIS) This link opens in a new window"As the United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for more than half a century, the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report is an indispensable source for insights into decades of turbulent world history. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Accordingly, it provides a wealth of information from all countries outside of the U.S.—from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe." (FBIS) Fondren Library owns FBIS Daily Reports for the Middle East & Africa, Near East & South Asia 1974-1996 and Annexes 1974-1996. Search the library's catalog for additional holdings available on microform.
Images
- Images of Colonialism"This visual record of early European contacts with Africa and Asia is a primary visual resource for historical and socio-cultural studies. Made up largely of late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers, this collection offers insight into European perspectives on varying aspects of colonial experience by documenting how popular perceptions of Asia and Africa were created and disseminated. The collection can also be used to draw contrasts between colonial attitudes among the French, British, German, and Dutch colonizers and the realities in the colonies."
- International Mission Photography Archive (IMPA)"The International Mission Photography Archive offers historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, France, Switzerland, and the United States. The photographs, which range in time from the middle of the nineteenth to the middle of the twentieth century, offer a visual record of missionary activities and experiences in Africa, China, Madagascar, India, Papua-New Guinea, and the Caribbean."
- Archives Image Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 90,000 electronic images from several archival repositories at the Smithsonian. You may browse these images by archival repositories or by their physical forms.
- ARTstorContent includes approximately 1.9 million images covering art, architecture and archaeology.
ARTstor's content has moved to JSTOR, and the ARTstor website was retired on August 1, 2024. More information here: https://www.jstor.org/artstor-move/
- Goethe Universitat Africa South of the Sahara Image CollectionOnline archive of photos from the 1880s of the African collection of the German Colonial Society
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University