Biographical treatments for significant American figures. An "American" is loosely defined as someone whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history. The only invariant rule is that all subjects must have died prior to 1996. Online version updated quarterly with new articles and illustrations.
Indexes current and retrospective reference sources, such as biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, and indexes. Contains citations to over 13 million biographical sketches from multiple reference works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
This series brings together "over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts (Cambridge University Press)." Rice University owns access to this series through 2023.
"Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage (Gale)."
"English-language reference source for philosophy, has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators (Gale)."
The current GVRL collection contains dictionaries and encyclopedias covering these areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, General Reference, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.
A collection of e-books containing in-depth articles covering the following subject areas: Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Social Work and Sociology. Users can use subject browse options on the top navigation bar and subject filters on the left-hand pane of the search results page. See more information for years owned..
Archaeology: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Classical Studies: 2009-2012 Foundation and the 2012-2022 Collections;
Criminology and Criminal Justice: 2009-2012 Foundation and 2013-2022 Collections;
History: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Law: 2009-2012 Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Linguistics: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Literature: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Music: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Neuroscience: 2021-2023 Collections;
Philosophy: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Physical Sciences: 2017, 2018 and 2019 Collections;
Political Science: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Psychology: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Religion: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Social Work: 2023 and
Sociology: 2017-2023 Collections.
Premium Collection contains over 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. Includes added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
"This is the first comprehensive reference work devoted to philosophy in Britain. In addition to biographical entries on the lives and works of individual thinkers, it incorporates major historical surveys of the core philosophical topics, mini factual entries to facilitate reference, and detailed entries on themes, movements, institutions, journals, influences and theories through the ages. The Encyclopedia brings together 2,500 entries contributed by over 500 international experts (Oxford University Press)."
"The Dictionary of Eighteenth-Century German Philosophers is a massive reference work featuring those eighteenth-century German philosophers, scholars, jurists, literary critics, historians and others whose work has lasting philosophical significance. The century covered in the Dictionary was one of profoundly innovative philosophical investigation, during which enlightenment thinking arrived in Germany and many established conceits were challenged. This activity is covered here in more than 650 alphabetical entries. Each discusses a particular philosopher’s life, contributions to the world of thought, and later influences. Entries also include bibliographical references to encourage further reading (Oxford University Press)."
"Philosophy is one of the oldest areas of study with a long history of critical literature, and it remains a highly active field for new research and publishing... Oxford Bibliographies in Philosophy is designed to provide authoritative guidance this innovative online reference tool will combine the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online (Oxford University Press)."