History and Philosophy of Science, Medicine, and Technology: Public Primary Sources and Archives

The Linda Hall Library is the world’s foremost independent research library devoted to science, engineering, and technology.

Finding aids for over 1500 collections covering all areas of American history including science, medicine, and technology.

The network of 21 specialized research libraries that make up the Smithsonian Libraries provide the Institution’s museums and research centers with resources and services that are as diverse and deep as the collections, exhibits, and scholarship they support. They truly span the range of scientific and cultural pursuits of humanity from aerospace, anthropology, and art history to business history and botany, cultural history, design, philately, zoology, and much, much more.

OU Libraries’ History of Science digital collection began with several hundred 15th- through 18th-century rare books, maps, and other items digitized for the 2015-2016 Galileo’s World exhibition. The works range from art, music, astronomy, and meteorology through natural history, the human body, microscopy, physics, and engineering, and on to religion and travels to China and the Americas.

The History of Science and Technology Collection brings together in digital facsimile two categories of primary and secondary publications: Writings about scientific research at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Unique or valuable titles in science and technology held by the UW-Madison libraries.

Articles and images on the eugenics movement.

The German national library of medicine's digitized historical collections.

Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, manuscripts, still images, videos, and maps. The content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich historical resources, as well as select modern resources.

The Wellcome Library is developing a world-class online resource for the history of medicine by digitising a substantial proportion of its holdings and making the content freely available on the web.

A historical collection of computer, software, equipment, and other tech-related documents.

Resources from the Charles Babbage Institute include photos, videos, and oral histories.

Articles, timelines, oral histories, and more on the history of computers.

An archive for the papers of Thomas Edison and other resources.