Government Resources for Women's Studies: Women's History Month
Overview
Women's History Month is an annual declared month (March) that highlights the contributions of women to events in history and contemporary society. International Women's Day (March 8) is a global day celebrating the social, economic, cultural, and political achievements of women. The day also marks a call to action for accelerating women's equality.
In February 1980, President Jimmy Carter issued the first Presidential Proclamation declaring the Week of March 8th,1980 as National Women’s History Week. On March 12, 1987, Congress passed a joint resolution designating March as "Women's History Month." The resolution included a request that the president annually issue a proclamation to observe the month. On March 16, 1987, President Ronald Reagan issued the first proclamation.
2024 Commencement Speaker
Peggy Whitson ’86
"Whitson is currently serving as director of human spaceflight for Houston-based Axiom Space. Over the past almost four decades, she has held various remarkable leadership positions, often being the first woman to do so, including NASA’s chief of the Astronaut Office, twice as commander of the International Space Station, chair of NASA’s Astronaut Selection Board, NASA’s Operations Branch chief and NASA deputy division chief for both the Medical Sciences Division and the Astronaut Office, and as commander of Ax-2, a private space mission in May 2023. Read full story on Rice News
Peggy Whitson will make remarks at the Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony taking place on the evening of Saturday, May 4."
(Source: Rice University Office of the President)
Online Resources
- Because of Her Story Women have contributed to America’s most defining moments—times that shaped constitutional rights, yielded scientific breakthroughs, created the symbols of our nation. Yet a diversity of women’s stories has not been widely told. To create a more equitable America, the Smithsonian is researching, disseminating, and amplifying the histories of American women through its American Women’s History Initiative in preparation for the future Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum. The Smithsonian wants the role of women in American history to be well-known, accurate, acknowledged, and empowering.
- National Archives - Women’s History Month The National Archives celebrates Women’s History Month, recognizing the great contributions that women have made to our nation. Learn about the history of women in the United States by exploring their stories through letters, photographs, film, and other primary sources.
- National Park Service - Remarkable Legacies of American Women From the lives of young, immigrant women who worked the textile mills at Lowell National Historic Park to those of the female shipyard workers who were essential to the home front during World War II at Rosie the Riveter/World War II Home Front National Historic Park, women’s history can be found at every park.
- National Today - Women's History Month During the month of March, we give a little extra attention to all of the amazing accomplishments of strong, determined women. Since 1987, the United States has formally recognized March as National Women’s History Month. Every woman has a story to tell and gifts to share with the world. So get ready, because this month is about honoring magnificent ladies, and we are ready to celebrate it to the fullest.
- National Women's History Museum The National Women's History Museum's mission is to tell the stories of women who transformed our nation. They do that through a growing state-of-the-art online presence and a future physical museum to educate, inspire, empower, shape the future, and provide a complete view of American history.
- NEH Teacher's Guide - Women’s History in the United States The NEH Teacher's Guide provides compelling questions, lesson activities, resources for teaching about the intersection of place and history, and multimedia resources to integrate women's perspectives and experiences throughout the school year.
- NEH Virtual Bookshelf: Women’s History Month Join NEH in celebrating Women’s History Month this March with this selection of NEH-funded projects examining women’s achievements and contributions to history, culture, and society.
- Smithsonian's History Explorer - Women's History Month Examine collections of the Museum's key resources on major themes in American history and social studies teaching. Additional resources can be found in the main search areas of the website.
- Smithsonian Learning Lab - Women's History in America This is a work-in-progress Smithsonian Learning Lab collection that includes images, text, and videos intended to inspire learning about different events, accomplishments, and themes in women's history in the United States. These resources provide some examples of and context on the movement for women's suffrage, feminists and activists for women's rights, and the first women to work in male-dominated fields.
- U.S. Courts Women's History Month Women’s History Month in March honors the struggles and achievements of women in American history. The federal courts join in celebrating their accomplishments at every level of the Third Branch of government.
- U.S. Department of Defense - Women's History The Defense Department honors the contributions of women serving in the military and DOD civilian forces, celebrating the richness and diversity of their achievements in March and throughout the year.
- The Untold History of Women in Science and Technology Listen to women from across the Administration tell the stories of their personal heroes across the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). Share them yourself. Add your own. And honor their legacy by committing to encourage a young woman to pursue a career in science.
- Women's History Month The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in commemorating and encouraging the study, observance and celebration of the vital role of women in American history.
Women Honored by Federal Government
- American Women Quarters ProjectThe American Women Quarters Program is a four-year program that celebrates the accomplishments and contributions made by women of the United States. Beginning in 2022, and continuing through 2025, the U.S. Mint will issue up to five new reverse designs each year. The obverse of each coin will maintain a likeness of George Washington, but is different from the design used during the previous quarter program.
The 45th USPS stamp in the Black Heritage series honors sculptor Edmonia Lewis (c.1844-1907), the first African American and Native American Sculptor to earn international recognition.
Civil Rights
- FindLaw.com - Civil Rights: U.S. Supreme Court Decisions From race and gender discrimination to sexual orientation discrimination and struggles over disability rights, civil rights cases are a very significant area of law that the U.S. Supreme Court has encountered on many occasions. This page includes a list of U.S. Supreme Court decisions involving civil rights and discrimination.
- Remembering the Ladies Key documents: the 19th Amendment and the Equal Rights Amendment represent two significant pieces of legislation for women: one ratified, one unratified.
- Smithsonian Learning Lab - National History Day: Women's Rights This collection brings together EDSITEment and Smithsonian resources to support the initial research into a project for National History Day. While originally created for the 2017 theme, "Taking a Stand in History," resources found in this collection are useful for researching other National History Day themes.
Women's History Month 2024
2024 Rice Women's History Month Events
Sponsored by the School of Humanities
Disability and Reproductive Justice
Sponsored by the Moody Center for the Arts
“the bear that longs to touch the ocean”
Select Publications at the Kelley Center for Government Information
- Women's history is everywhere : 10 ideas for celebrating in communities : a how to community handbook byCall Number: PR 42.8:W 84/3Publication Date: 2000
- National American Woman Suffrage Association [records, 1839-1961] byCall Number: JK1881 .N38 GuidePublication Date: 1981
- Milestones : the Women's Bureau celebrates 65 years of women's labor history byCall Number: L 36.102:M 59Publication Date: 1985
