Global Affairs Study Resources
Rice MGA Concentrations
The Master of Global Affairs program offers three areas of concentration. While there is often overlapping themes, the areas of study include:
1. International Political Economy
2. International Security
3. International Political Development
The resources are this web page are taylored toward these three areas. The resources listed here are not an exhaustive list, but rather to showcase what you can find through Fondren Library. Contact librarians to learn more.
International Political Economy
International political economy delves into the interconnections among national governments and the stat of a globalized economy. This area involves inquiries of trade, financial markets, taxation, energy production, and global health and environment.
Example Courses:
- International Macroeconomic Policy
- Energy Policy
- International Business Environment and Global Economic Governance
- Economic Modeling and Public Policy
- Public Finance
-
Routledge Handbook of International Political Economy (IPE)
by
The study of the International Political Economy (IPE), like the IPE itself, is plural and unbounded. Despite what partisans sometimes say, rather than there being 'one way' of studying the IPE that is the 'right way', we find across the world great variation in IPE scholarship in terms of focus, questions, and methods. How then can we make sense of this and understand the field as a whole rather than simply learn one part of it? This Handbook is designed to address precisely this concern. It maps the shifting boundaries and diverse theoretical commitments of IPE around the world. It engages the geographical and theoretical diversity of the different versions of IPE found in North America, the UK, in Asia and Australia; and notes the absences of distinctive versions of IPE in Europe and Latin America. The volume groups together the essential attributes and positions of each school, inviting the reader to engage with and learn about IPE in all of its guises through this evolving 'global conversation.' Rather than adjudicate 'the one true version' of IPE, it argues that the intellectual diversity we see around the world is an essential, and positive, feature of the field. With over twenty contributors from a wide range of countries Routledge Handbook of International Political Economy is an essential resource for all those with an interest in this complex and rapidly evolving field of study.
ISBN: 9780415771269Publication Date: 2009-04-01 -
The Rise of China's Innovation Economy
by
This open access book provides a comprehensive review of technological innovation in China, focusing on some existing challenges and the debate on the role of public policies in promoting innovation. Technological innovation has become a vital factor in promoting high-quality development in China. By examining the current state of and challenges confronting China's technological innovation from both the supply side (talent and R&D) and the demand side (domestic and international demand), this book offers a view on how to enhance the efficiency of industry chain while ensuring security through innovation. Public policy often plays a crucial role in shaping and improving the national innovation system when new challenges emerge. We put special emphasis on innovation in strategically important sectors, which include the digital, green, and biotech industries, as well as the manufacturing and logistics sectors that are fundamental to the working of the whole innovation system. This book explains academically rigorous content in a simple manner, and is therefore suitable for readers from the fields of public policy, economics, finance, and innovative sectors who seek to better understand China's path of innovation. The book cites information from various credible sources, including academic journals, policy institutions, and a network of primary sources such as industry experts and renowned academics.
ISBN: 9789819982301Publication Date: 2024-03-19 -
The Trade Weapon
by
Prompted by geostrategic rivalry and the war in Ukraine, COVID-19 and the climate transition, trade policy is increasingly being weaponized. This trend towards protectionist capture and retaliation is self-sabotaging and bad for growth. But there is another way. In this hard-hitting book, Ken Heydon offers alternatives to the trade weapon: the need for diplomatic carrots to accompany the sanctions stick; for resilience in supply chains rather than self-sufficiency through ill-advised reshoring and friend-shoring; for multilateral WTO remedies to rule breaking rather than unilateral penalties in the name of national sovereignty; and for direct action on environment and public health goals rather than the blunt tool of trade restriction. But, to restrain the damaging subordination of trade policy to other ends, governments must address the discontents of trade and do better at helping losers, adjusting to technological change and making the case for open markets. At stake are three decades of income gains from globalization and the ability to deal effectively with the climate transition and the next pandemic.
Call Number: HF1413.5 .H49 2024ISBN: 1509557555Publication Date: 2024-01-23 -
Capitalism Reconnected
by
Capitalism has gone astray. Today we face ecological exhaustion, persistent inequality, financialization, stress on communities, short-termism, and new power concentrations. An avalanche of new economic thinking and a reorientation of European values show the way toward a different economy. A new perspective is necessary if we want to implement the Sustainable Development Goals and if we consider our planet as 'Our Common Home,' for present and future generations. This book argues that European economies should be the initiators of a global transition toward a sustainable and inclusive world economy. Together, amid severe geopolitical and geoeconomic challenges, they need to develop their own perspective on what a good economy really is, in distinction to Chinese state capitalism and American big business capitalism. Crucially, this requires the rediscovery of key European values, a coherent view on responsible capitalism, and a new self-awareness as a global player for the Common Good in today's and tomorrow's world.
Call Number: HC240.9.C3 B35 2024ISBN: 9789048562633Publication Date: 2023-12-01 -
Unpacking the G20
by
With a novel focus on the individual members of the G20, this innovative book explores the perspectives and behaviours of those within the global summit, unpacking what they are seeking to achieve, how they go about doing this, and the domestic impact of the G20. Providing insights from the summit, Hugo Dobson comprehensively analyses the G20's development and practices from the perspectives of the nineteen member states and one inter-governmental organisation that have shaped it. Chapters examine members' reactions to the upgrading of the G20 to a summit of leaders in 2008, its development thereafter into the premier forum for international economic cooperation, and the expansion of its agenda beyond macroeconomic issues to a range of global collective action problems. Looking at its future from a country-specific perspective, Dobson concludes that the G20 will continue to engage with stakeholders and evolve in terms of its membership, as seen in the decision at the 2023 Delhi summit to include the African Union, thereby providing a basis for future research on its members' perspectives, positions and behaviours. This multidisciplinary book will be an invigorating read for students of international relations and politics, global governance, sustainable development, climate change and energy transitions, and security and terrorism. Its exclusive insights will also be of use to policymakers and third sector organisations who are stakeholders in the G20 process.
Call Number: HF1359 .D63 2024ISBN: 9781786433541Publication Date: 2024-01-16
International Security
International security looks into how governments, international organizations and nongovernment actors seek to sustain (or work against) mutual safety in the world. This includes studies of wars, use of conventional military powers, terrorism, and religions and ethnic conflicts which spill across national borders. This concentration also focuses on global treaties and other agreements which have been implemented to bolster international cooperation
Example Courses:
- Cyberpolitik
- International Security
- International Crisis Management in a Multi-Risk, Inter-Connected World
- War and Politics
- Strategic International Relations
- US China Conflict Cooperation
-
The Oxford Handbook of International Security
by
This Oxford Handbook is the definitive volume on the state of international security and the academic field of security studies. It provides a tour of the most innovative and exciting news areas of research as well as major developments in established lines of inquiry. It presents a comprehensive portrait of an exciting field, with a distinctively forward-looking theme, focusing on the question: what does it mean to think about the future of international security? The key assumption underpinning this volume is that all scholarly claims about international security, both normative and positive, have implications for the future. By examining international security to extract implications for the future, the volume provides clarity about the real meaning and practical implications for those involved in this field. Yet, contributions to this volume are not exclusively forecasts or prognostications, and the volume reflects the fact that, within the field of security studies, there are diverse views on how to think about the future. Readers will find in this volume some of the most influential mainstream (positivist) voices in the field of international security as well as some of the best known scholars representing various branches of critical thinking about security. The topics covered in the Handbook range from conventional international security themes such as arms control, alliances and Great Power politics, to "new security" issues such as global health, the roles of non-state actors, cyber-security, and the power of visual representations in international security.The Oxford Handbooks of International Relations is a twelve-volume set of reference books offering authoritative and innovative engagements with the principal sub-fields of International Relations. The series as a whole is under the General Editorship of Christian Reus-Smith of the University of Queensland and Duncan Snidal of the University of Oxford, with each volume edited by a distinguished pair of specialists in their respective fields. The series both surveys the broad terrain of International Relations scholarship and reshapes it, pushing each sub-field in challenging new directions. Following the example of the original Reus-Smit and Snidal The Oxford Handbook of International Relations, each volume is organized around a strong central thematic by a pair of scholars drawn from alternative perspectives, reading its sub-field in an entirely new way, and pushing scholarship in challenging new directions.
ISBN: 9780198777854Publication Date: 2018-05-15 -
Essays on the history and politics of the internet : cyberpolitics
by
This is a book about the politics and history of the Internet. The Internet has been in existence for over fifty years. The way we live our lives has changed considerably because of this new medium. As the Internet has become increasingly popular, it has been drawn into age-old struggles over censorship and freedom of expression. It has played an increasing role in commerce, and controversies have erupted over privacy, security, consumer rights, intellectual property rights, taxation, and other matters. With the rise of Internet-connected smartphones, the Internet has become part of daily life for billions of people. One major theme explored in this book is the contrast between the dream and the reality of the Internet. Many of the creators of the Internet shared a vision of building a system that would empower individuals anywhere in the world to share their knowledge and creativity. This profoundly democratic dream came out of an age in which many pre-existing power structures were being questioned. This book argues that the Internet has actually resulted in the creation of new centers of power and influence, many of which are anti-democratic.
Call Number: HM851 .H3675 2023ISBN: 9781527528703Publication Date: 2023 -
Global Governance and International Cooperation : Managing Global Catastrophic Risks in the 21st Century
by
The Global Governance Forum and the Global Challenges Foundation collaborate in this collection in their concern that the UN Charter and the contemporary infrastructure for international cooperation are no longer fit for purpose and lack the instruments, resources and legitimacy to address the catastrophic risks threatening our future. Twenty-eight contributors offer thoughtful proposals for reforming existing international institutions and creating new ones to build a more peaceful, prosperous and just world, covering themes such as the management of weapons of mass destruction, collective security arrangements, justice and equity in economics, human rights, migration and refugees, climate mitigation, and food security, all bearing on the health of both people and planet. The vital project of this century is building institutions that will underpin global governance in coming decades, requiring imagination, persistence, empathy, and confidence that we will find a path to enhanced mechanisms of binding international law and the resources to make that happen. The volume is essential reading for scholars and researchers on international politics and public policy and indispensable for diplomats and government agencies.
ISBN: 9781040001431Publication Date: 2024 -
The United States and China in the Era of Global Transformations
by
Over the last two decades, China has emerged as one of the most powerful state actors in the post-Cold War international system. This book provides a multifaceted and spatially oriented analysis of how China's re-emergence as a global power impacts the dominance of the United States as well as domestic state and non-state actors in various world-regions, including the Asia-Pacific, Africa, South America and the Caribbean, the Middle East, Europe and the Arctic. Chapters reflect on how and under which conditions competition (and cooperation) between the United States and China vary across these regions and what such variations mean for the prospects of war and peace, universal human dignity and global cooperation.
Call Number: E183.8.C5 U55 2024ISBN: 9781529228441Publication Date: 2023-12-19 -
The War Against Ukraine and the EU
by
This open access book aims at discussing the manifold consequences that the War against Ukraine bears for the European Union and EU Studies. It takes stock of the fact that the Russian Attack on Ukraine and the ensuing War not only affects the Global Order, but also has challenged a number of established narratives and convictions for the European Union and its member states. The EU now needs to position itself in the changing world order. Concretely it needs to deal with a number of membership applications, internal and external challenges to liberal democracy, and the development of its strategic autonomy in a number of decisive policy fields. The book convenes experienced scholars, with chapters covering the following themes and fields: Theories, approaches and concepts in EU studies and IR; the EU and the changing European and Global Order; the War and defence of liberal democracy; Membership Politics; Energy Policy.
ISBN: 9783031350399Publication Date: 2024-04-30
International Political Development
International political development examines ways in which nations' governments and economies grow or falter in the global arena. Topics within this realm include cultural norms, modernization, democratic elections and the ways in which these elements shape various regions around the world.
Example Courses:
- Conflict, Cooperation, and Change in Global Governance
- America in the Middle East
- Elections in the Americas
- Latin American Politics
- Gender and Representation in Latin America
-
The Environment in Global Sustainability Governance
by
Available Open Access digitally under CC-BY-NC-ND licence.With Agenda 2030, the UN adopted wide-ranging Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) that integrate development and environmental agendas. This book focuses on the political tensions between the environmental objectives and socio-economic aspects of sustainable development. The collection provides an introduction to interlinkages, synergies and trade-offs between the 'green' and other goals, such as gender equality and economic growth. It also considers related goals on cities and partnerships as crucial for implementing environmentally sound sustainability. Identifying governance failures and responsibilities, it advocates for a shift towards cooperative economics and politics for the common good.
Call Number: HC79.E5 E5687 2024ISBN: 9781529228014Publication Date: 2023-11-23 -
Global Governance in a World of Change
by
Global governance has come under increasing pressure since the end of the Cold War. In some issue areas, these pressures have led to significant changes in the architecture of governance institutions. In others, institutions have resisted pressures for change. This volume explores what accounts for this divergence in architecture by identifying three modes of governance: hierarchies, networks, and markets. The authors apply these ideal types to different issue areas in order to assess how global governance has changed and why. In most issue areas, hierarchical modes of governance, established after World War II, have given way to alternative forms of organization focused on market or network-based architectures. Each chapter explores whether these changes are likely to lead to more or less effective global governance across a wide range of issue areas. This provides a novel and coherent theoretical framework for analysing change in global governance. This title is available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
Call Number: JZ1318 .G55669 2021ISBN: 9781108843232Publication Date: 2021-12-09 -
Indigenous Peoples and Borders
by
The legacies of borders are far-reaching for Indigenous Peoples. This collection offers new ways of understanding borders by departing from statist approaches to territoriality. Bringing together the fields of border studies, human rights, international relations, and Indigenous studies, it features a wide range of voices from across academia, public policy, and civil society. The contributors explore the profound and varying impacts of borders on Indigenous Peoples around the world and the ways borders are challenged and worked around. From Bangladesh's colonially imposed militarized borders to resource extraction in the Russian Arctic and along the Colombia-Ecuador border to the transportation of toxic pesticides from the United States to Mexico, the chapters examine sovereignty, power, and obstructions to Indigenous rights and self-determination as well as globalization and the economic impacts of borders. Indigenous Peoples and Borders proposes future action that is informed by Indigenous Peoples' voices, needs, and advocacy. Contributors. Tone Bleie, Andrea Carmen, Jacqueline Gillis, Rauna Kuokkanen, Elifuraha Laltaika, Sheryl Lightfoot, David Bruce MacDonald, Toa Elisa Maldonado Ruiz, Binalakshmi "Bina" Nepram, Melissa Z. Patel, Manoel B. do Prado Junior, Hana Shams Ahmed, Elsa Stamatopoulou, Liubov Suliandziga, Rodion Sulyandziga, Yifat Susskind, Erika M. Yamada
ISBN: 1478025476Publication Date: 2024-01-05 -
The Unmaking of Special Rights
by
In light of recent significant changes to the global order, The Unmaking of Special Rightsexplores an often-forgotten aspect of these power shifts: special rights for developing countries. Written by a group of esteemed experts, it analyzes when and how special rights for developing countries have evolved in the context of global power shifts. This informative book outlines how, since decolonization, several global regimes have granted 'disadvantaged' members exemptions, yet the rise of Brazil, India, China, and other countries has led to pressure to adjust these rights to new economic realities. Based on case studies in global trade, climate, and health governance, this groundbreaking book comparatively assesses the evolution of differential treatment across global governance, highlighting how treating all developing countries as a single group has gradually been replaced with a more nuanced approach. Chapters cover differentiated responsibilities in the climate regime, capacity, willingness and need in the health regime, and special and differential treatment in the World Trade Organization (WTO). For academics, researchers and students specializing in international economics, law and politics, international political economy, and public policy, this book will be a vital read. Providing in-depth comparative case studies, it will also be of interest to practitioners and policymakers working in international development organizations.
ISBN: 9781035325979Publication Date: 2024-02-09 -
The Face of the Nation
by
Foreign services globally are undergoing fundamental and rapid gendered change, spurred on by shifting social and governance norms and even the adoption of an explicit feminist foreign policy in some stages. For some, this has resulted in women's rapidly increasing representation at the frontlines of global governance. Yet, compounded by COVID-19, a rise in right-wing misogyny and extremism, and sometimes archaically slow-moving institutions, progress is marred by women's continued, entrenched under-representation in leadership and devastating challenges that have increased in recent years. Women remain frequently side-lined, marginalized, under-valued, and overlooked in international affairs. In short, international affairs has a gender problem, and remains one of the worst-performing sectors of the state. After studying women's leadership and gender relations across four international affairs agencies spanning diplomacy, defense, national security, policing, and intelligence, The Face of the Nation contributes empirical data from the last 30+ years on women's representation in a leading case context--Australia--to understand the disconnect between pockets of progress and undercurrents of resistance. Australia is a global leader in terms of representation of women and policy supports for gender equality in governance. Yet, Australia also demonstrates how deeply gendered, racialized, and heteronormative international institutions remain. Through in-depth interviews with almost 80 global leaders, including with Australia's first female prime minister, Julia Gillard, and first female foreign minister, Julie Bishop, this book delivers a much-needed Intersectional Feminist Institutionalist approach to trace the evolution of inequalities in international affairs and interrogate why women still remain under-represented in international affairs.
Call Number: JZ1253.2 .S75 2024ISBN: 9780197632727Publication Date: 2024-01-31
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University