Global Affairs Study Resources
Reference Material: Overview
Reference Material:
Reference materials can come in various formats and provide background information on a given topic. These resources may include dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, research handbooks, catalogs, or directories. Regardless of your experience in global affairs, reference materials are a convenient primer to get more familiar with this field of study. Listed below are some resources available through the Fondren Library to help you get started on your research:
Oxford Resources
Oxford Resources:
Oxford Academic
Oxford Reference
Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics
Oxford Companion to International Relations
International Relations - Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Handbook of Deliberative Democracy
The Oxford handbook of international political theory
The Oxford handbook of international relations
The Oxford handbook of history and international relations
The Oxford handbook of peaceful change in international relations
Preliminary Resources to Global Affairs
-
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
by
The study of international relations has changed rapidly in recent years. Firstly as a consequence of major political and economic changenbsp;- the end of the cold war and the fall of communism, the resurgence of nationalism, terrorism and forms of fundamentalism, globalizationnbsp;- and secondly, linked with these developments, because of the vitality of the discipline, with ongoing debates on the fundamental paradigms for the understanding of international relations and the emergence of the perspectives of feminism, postmodernism, constructivism and critical theory. The Routledge Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics provides a unique reference source for students and academics covering all aspects of global international relations and the contemporary discipline across IR's major subject divisions of diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy, and theory. Written by a distinguished group of international scholars, the Encyclopedia is largely comprised of substantial entries of more than 1,000 words, withnbsp;fifty major entries of 5,000 words on core contemporary topics. Each entry is fully cross-referenced and followed by a listing of complementary entries and a short bibliography for further reading. The whole is comprehensively indexed. There is no other resource of its kind and the Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics will be an extremely valuable addition to all libraries supporting teaching and research in the social sciences.
ISBN: 0415459184Publication Date: 2007-12-20 -
Handbook of Critical International Relations
by
Comprising a plurality of perspectives, this timely Handbook is an essential resource for understanding past and current challenges to democracy, justice, social and gender equality, identity and freedom. It shows how critical international relations (IR) theory functions as a broad-based and diverse critique of society. The chapters explore key new areas of research, including critical emotion and critical animal studies and draws on Marxist, poststructuralist, feminist, realist and post-colonial backgrounds to frame this research. Structured in four thematic parts, the Handbook of Critical International Relationsmoves from discussing approaches and emancipation, concepts and configuration, and political economy and domination, to global trajectories and challenges. Its emphasis on non-Western IR viewpoints, offers cutting-edge insights into the notion of otherness, the dialectics of authoritarian neoliberalism, and agonistic recognition. Graduate and undergraduate IR scholars will benefit from the solid, working understanding of critical IR offered in the detailed chapters on the varied approaches, concepts and new areas of research in the field. Critical IR research institutions and policy-makers will also appreciate the discussion of, and advice offered on, key issues and challenges facing democracy and justice. Contributors include:A.D. Barder, P. Bilgin, S. Brincat, S. Chakrabarti, P. Cunliffe, R. Dayerizadeh, S. de Groot Heupner, M. Delori, M. Fluck, S. Gill, S. Koschut, B. Luongo, J. Nunes, C. Peoples, S.C. Roach, R. Roccu, K. Schick, S.C. Tauber, B. Thirkell-White
Call Number: JZ1242 .H34 2020ISBN: 9781788112888Publication Date: 2020-02-03 -
Handbook of International Relations
by
The original Handbook of International Relations was the first authoritative and comprehensive survey of the field of international relations. In this eagerly-awaited new edition, the Editors have once again drawn together a team of the world′s leading scholars of international relations to provide a state-of-the-art review and indispensable guide to the field, ensuring its position as the pre-eminent volume of its kind. The Second Edition has been expanded to 33 chapters and fully revised, with new chapters on the following contemporary topics: - Normative Theory in IR - Critical Theories and Poststructuralism - Efforts at Theoretical Synthesis in IR: Possibilities and Limits - International Law and International Relations - Transnational Diffusion: Norms, Ideas and Policies - Comparative Regionalism - Nationalism and Ethnicity - Geopolitics in the 21st Century - Terrorism and International Relations - Religion and International Politics - International Migration A truly international undertaking, this Handbook reviews the many historical, philosophical, analytical and normative roots to the discipline and covers the key contemporary topics of research and debate today. The Handbook of International Relations remains an essential benchmark publication for all advanced undergraduates, graduate students and academics in politics and international relations.
ISBN: 1473971195Publication Date: 2012-09-18 -
Palgrave Handbook of Inter-Organizational Relations in World Politics
by
This unique handbook brings together a team of leading scholars and practitioners in order to map, synthesize and assess key perspectives on cooperation and rivalry between regional and global organizations in world politics. For the first time, a variety of inter-disciplinary theoretical and conceptual perspectives are combined in order to assess the nature, processes and outcomes of inter-organizational partnerships and rivalries across major policy areas, such as peace and security, human rights and democratisation as well as finance, development and climate change . This text provides scholars, students and policy-makers of International Relations with an exhaustive reference book for understanding the theoretical and empirical dimensions of an increasingly important topic in International Relations (IR), Global Governance and related disciplines.
ISBN: 1137360399Publication Date: 2016-11-09 -
Routledge Handbook of Critical International Relations
by
Critical international relations is both firmly established and rapidly expanding, and this Handbook offers a wide-ranging survey of contemporary research. It affords insights into exciting developments, more challenging issues and less prominent topics, examining debates around questions of imperialism, race, gender, ethics and aesthetics, and offering both an overview of the existing state of critical international politics and an agenda-setting collection that highlights emerging areas and fosters future research. Sections cover: critique and the discipline; relations beyond humanity; art and narrative; war, religion and security; otherness and diplomacy; spaces and times; resistance; and embodiment and intimacy. An international group of expert scholars, whose contributions are commissioned for the volume, provide chapters that facilitate teaching at advanced undergraduate and postgraduate level, inspire new generations of researchers in the field and promote collaboration, cross-fertilisation and inspiration across sub-fields often treated separately, such as feminism, postcolonialism and poststructuralism. The volume sees these strands as complementary not contradictory, and emphasises their shared political goals, shared theoretical resources and complementary empirical practices. Each chapter offers specific, focused, in-depth analysis that complements and exemplifies the broader coverage, making this Routledge Handbook of Critical International Relations essential reading for all students and scholars of international relations.
ISBN: 1317433149Publication Date: 2019-03-11 -
The European Union and Global Governance
by
The European Union and Global Governance: A Handbook aims to analyse contemporary debates in European Studies in order to provide lessons for the development, design and normative evaluation of global governance. It brings together scholars of European studies and international relations, where much of the literature on regional and global governance is located, thereby providing interdisciplinary lessons from the study of European Union and its governance that can be used to re-evaluate processes of global governance. Each chapter examines methodological, theoretical or empirical discussions within European studies in order to draw insights for current developments in global governance.
ISBN: 1136962816Publication Date: 2010-12-14 -
The Routledge Handbook to Rethinking Ethics in International Relations
by
Discussing cutting-edge debates in the field of international ethics, this key volume builds on existing work in the normative study of international relations. It responds to a substantial appetite for scholarship that challenges established approaches and examines new perspectives on international ethics, and that appraises the ethical implications of problems occupying students and scholars of international relations in the twenty-first century. The contributions, written by a team of international scholars, provide authoritative surveys and interventions into the field of international ethics. Focusing on new and emerging ethical challenges to international relations, and approaching existing challenges through the lens of new theoretical and methodological frameworks, the book is structured around five themes: * New directions in international ethics * Ethical actors and practices in international relations * The ethics of climate change, globalization, and health * Technology and ethics in international relations * The ethics of global security Interdisciplinary in its scope, this book will be an important resource for scholars and students in the fields of politics and international relations, philosophy, law and sociology, and a useful reference for anyone who wishes to acquire 'ethical competence' in the area of international relations.
ISBN: 1317041763Publication Date: 2020-05-21 -
The Routledge Handbook of Transformative Global Studies
by
The Routledge Handbook of Transformative Global Studies provides diverse and cutting-edge perspectives on this fast-changing field. For 30 years the world has been caught in a long 'global interregnum,' plunging from one crisis to the next and witnessing the emergence of new, vibrant, multiple, and sometimes contradictory forms of popular resistance and politics. This global 'interregnum' - or a period of uncertainty where the old hegemony is fading and the new ones have not yet been fully realized - necessitates critical self-reflection, brave intellectual speculation and (un)learning of perceived wisdoms, and greater transdisciplinary collaboration across theories, localities, and subjects. This Handbook takes up this challenge by developing fresh perspectives on globalization, development, neoliberalism, capitalism, and their progressive alternatives, addressing issues of democracy, power, inequality, insecurity, precarity, wellbeing, education, displacement, social movements, violence and war, and climate change. Throughout, it emphasizes the dynamics for system change, including bringing post-capitalist, feminist, (de)colonial, and other critical perspectives to support transformative global praxis. This volume brings together a mixture of fresh and established scholars from across disciplines and from a range of both Northern and Southern contexts. Researchers and students from around the world and across the fields of politics, sociology, international development, international relations, geography, economics, area studies, and philosophy will find this an invaluable and fresh guide to global studies in the 21st century.
ISBN: 0429893388Publication Date: 2020-06-09 -
The SAGE Handbook of the History, Philosophy and Sociology of International Relations
by
The SAGE Handbook of the History, Philosophy and Sociology of International Relations offers a panoramic overview of the broad field of International Relations by integrating three distinct but interrelated foci. It retraces the historical development of International Relations (IR) as a professional field of study, explores the philosophical foundations of IR, and interrogates the sociological mechanisms through which scholarship is produced and the field is structured. Comprising 38 chapters from both established scholars and an emerging generation of innovative meta-theorists and theoretically driven empiricists, the handbook fosters discussion of the field from the inside out, forcing us to come to grips with the widely held perception that IR is experiencing an existential crisis quite unlike anything else in its hundred-year history. This timely and innovative reference volume reflects on situated scholarly practices in a way that projects our collective thinking into the future. PART ONE: THE INWARD GAZE: INTRODUCTORY REFLECTIONSPART TWO: IMAGINING THE INTERNATIONAL, ACKNOWLEDGING THE GLOBALPART THREE: THE SEARCH FOR (AN) IDENTITYPART FOUR: INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS AS A PROFESSIONPART FIVE: LOOKING AHEAD: THE FUTURE OF META-ANALYSIS
ISBN: 1473966590Publication Date: 2018-09-26
Related Libguides
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University