Provenance Research Guide: Art/Archaeology Databases

L'Annee philologique is a bibliography of classical languages and literature; includes coverage of archaeology and history of art (1924 - present).

Bibliographic database with citations from volumes 1-32 (1929-1984) of the printed Art Index, citing articles from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum publications, and art reproductions that appear in these periodicals.

Articles, images, conference papers and proceedings, trade publications, and other scholarly writing in art, architecture, and related disciplines.

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and includes scholarly literature published after 2007 on: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.
Over 500 core journals are covered, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogs.
The Getty provides access to a free version of the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) for works published 1975-2007. The BHA does not cover ancient art.

Art resource containing Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, with access to more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images.