University of Oxford: More than twenty different databases were merged into one "extensible" database system between 2004 and 2005. For example, a database of inscriptions on Athenian vases was merged with the pottery database, and the latter was merged with Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum. Users can search individual databases or the merged databases.
Illustrated catalogue of more than 100,000 ancient vases; a research project of the Union Academique Internationale.
Fondren Library owns an extensive collection of the printed edition of the Corpus Vasorum antiquorum in the Library Service Center - Restricted Use Only. Search the Classic Catalog by title. Entries are subdivided by country.
Originating out of the Classics Department at Tufts University, this Website now includes primary and secondary resources in Classics, the English Renaissance, and more.
Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser: Look through a massive library of art objects, sites, and buildings. The library's catalogs document 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Descriptions and images have been produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions, and scholars. Catalog information and keywords have been taken from standard sources, which are cited in the entries for each object.
The Photo Agency of the Reunion des Musees Nationaux provides access to an online catalogue of photographs of over 800,000 works of art in the national and regional museums of France. The image database may be searched by a combination of search criteria. While searching the database is free, ektachromes or digital files must be ordered online. Payment of fees due to the Photographic Library of the RMN for the use of its documents does not include copyright fees due to the artist or the artist's estate. The website provides contact information for ADAGP, French collective rights management society for the visual arts representing 80,000 arists; estates of Matisse, Picasso, etc. Art works which are still under copyright have an "author rights" statement included in the detailed photograph view. The web site also provides links to the participating museums.
Enciclopedia dell'arte antica, classica e orientale.Rome: Istituto della Enciclopedia Italiana, 1958-1973.
Call Number: Art Ref N31 .E5 v.1-17
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture.Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007.
Call Number: Art Ref N5610 .G76 2007 v.1-2
Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae.Zurich: Aremis, 1981-1999. 8 vols in 18
Call Number: Art Ref N7760 .L49 1981
Most comprehensive illustrated encyclopedia of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman mythology. Provides brief description of myths and their various interpretations, with extensive bibliographic citations, line drawings or photographs. Literary sources and commentaries accompany each entry. Entries in language of authors: German, English, French, and Italian.