Statistics: Data Support
Statistical Software
Popular Statistical Software
JMP
Software suite with emphasis on exploratory data analysis and visualization, experimental design, and hypothesis testing. Intuitive point-and-click graphical user interface handy for those with no programming experience. Licenses provided by Rice OIT at no cost for installation on personal computers. See the JMP learning library for tutorials and documentation.
R
Free, open-source programming language with a relatively steep learning curve available for download here. R, widely used by statisticians, is highly extensible through user-submitted packages. It is often used for data manipulation, modeling, visualization, and statistical testing. RStudio, a popular development environment with a graphical user interface, can be downloaded here. See this open-access online textbook for a comprehensive introduction to data science in R, using a popular collection of packages called the tidyverse.
SAS
Robust software suite with a broad range of analytical and statistical capabilities, and thorough online documentation. Steep learning curve, and most popular among experienced users for advanced and predictive analytics, multivariate analysis, business intelligence, and data management. Free University Edition can be downloaded by anyone for non-commercial use. Full version pre-installed on all campus desktops, and available for installation on personal machines by Rice OIT on site in MUDD 103.
SPSS
Software package widely used in health research, marketing, and the social sciences. Graphical user interface allows user to conduct wide variety of statistical analyses with dropdown menus. Also includes command-line interface for more complicated tasks. Available for purchase at a discount from Rice On the Hub for graduate and undergraduate students.
Stata
General purpose statistical package frequently used in social science research, capable of data management, statistical analysis, and visualization. Emphasizes command-line interface but includes graphical user interface, through which analysis can be conducted with dropdown menus and dialog boxes. GUI actions generate code, easing transition to command-line competency. Purchase required.
Data to Knowledge Lab
Data to Knowledge Lab
The School of Engineering's D2K Lab offers a consulting clinic where Rice students and faculty mentors provide assistance with a broad array of data science challenges.
Data Sources
Data Sources
- Statista: Up-to-date statistical data from over 18,000 sources
- United States Census Bureau
- Current Population Survey: Source of labor force statistics for the United States sponsored by the Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Kaggle: An open online community of data scientists where members can find and publish datasets
Training Materials
Statistics with JMP: Hypothesis Tests, ANOVA, and Regression by
A first course on basic statistical methodology using JMP. This book provides a first course on parameter estimation (point estimates and confidence interval estimates), hypothesis testing, ANOVA and simple linear regression. The authors approach combines mathematical depth with numerous examples and demonstrations using the JMP software.
Call Number: QA273.19 .E4 G68 2016ISBN: 9781119097150Publication Date: 2016
The Art of R Programming by
The Art of R Programming takes you on a guided tour of software development with R, from basic types and data structures to advanced topics like closures, recursion, and anonymous functions. No statistical knowledge is required, and your programming skills can range from hobbyist to pro.
Call Number: QA276.4 .M2925 2011ISBN: 9781593273842Publication Date: 2011
R Cookbook by
With more than 200 practical recipes, this book helps you perform data analysis with R quickly and efficiently. The R language provides everything you need to do statistical work, but its structure can be difficult to master. This collection of concise, task-oriented recipes makes you productive with R immediately, with solutions ranging from basic tasks to input and output, general statistics, graphics, and linear regression.
Call Number: QA276.45 .R3 T44 2011ISBN: 9780596809157Publication Date: 2011
Practical Data Science with R by
Practical Data Science with R explains basic principles without the theoretical mumbo-jumbo and jumps right to the real use cases you'll face as you collect, curate, and analyze the data crucial to the success of your business. You'll apply the R programming language and statistical analysis techniques to carefully explained examples based in marketing, business intelligence, and decision support.
Call Number: QA276.45 .R3 Z86 2014ISBN: 9781617291562Publication Date: 2014
Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
An accessible and comprehensive guide to walking through SPSS, providing step-by-step knowledge for effectively analyzing data.
Call Number: HA32 .A52 2019ISBN: 9781544318899Publication Date: 2018
SPSS Survival Manual by
Provides a comprehensive introduction to data analysis in SPSS, with minimal statistical and mathematical jargon.
Call Number: HA32 .P35 2010 (Online)ISBN: 9780335242405Publication Date: 2010
A Gentle Introduction to Stata, Fifth Edition by
Aimed at new Stata users who want to become proficient in Stata. After reading this introductory text, new users will be able not only to use Stata well but also to learn new aspects of Stata. The assumption of a blank slate is central to the structure and contents of the book.
Call Number: HA32 .A26 2016ISBN: 9781597181853Publication Date: 2016
An Introduction to Statistics and Data Analysis Using Stata by
Provides a step-by-step introduction for statistics, data analysis, or research methods classes with Stata. Concise descriptions emphasize the concepts behind statistics for students rather than the derivations of the formulas. With real-world examples from a variety of disciplines and extensive detail on the commands in Stata, this text provides an integrated approach to research design, statistical analysis, and report writing for social science students.
Call Number: HA32 .D37 2020ISBN: 9781506371832Publication Date: 2019
Fondren Resources
Research Data Services
Fondren Library's Research Data Services offers hands-on training in the basics of organizing, documenting, analyzing, and visualizing data. See the series website for a schedule of upcoming courses.
Kelley Center and GIS/Data Center Support
Both Fondren's Kelley Center for Government Information, Data and Geospatial Services and GIS/Data Center offer instruction for and assistance with various data-oriented projects, such as data acquisition, management, and analysis.