Statistics: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Print Resources
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics by
Nearly 4000 terms are defined, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational and graphical aspects. Entries are provided for standard and specialized statistical software. In addition, short biographies of over 100 important statisticians are given. Definitions provide enough mathematical detail to clarify concepts and give standard formulae when these are helpful.
Call Number: QA276.14 .E84 2010ISBN: 9780521766999Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics in the Medical Sciences by
Brief but useful descriptions of over 2000 terms frequently found in the medical and medical statistics literature. Where appropriate, graphical illustrations or numerical examples are given, and the use of mathematical formulae has been minimized.
Call Number: RA407 .E94 1995ISBN: 0521473829Publication Date: 1995
A Dictionary of Statistics by
This wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary contains over 2,000 entries on all aspects of statistics including terms used in computing, mathematics, operational research, and probability, as well as biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field, and coverage of statistical journals and societies.
Call Number: QA276.14 .U67 2006ISBN: 9780198614319Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics by
Covers statistical issues pertinent to life scientists, healthcare professionals and practicing statisticians. Includes up-to-date material on bio-informatics and statistical genetics. Easily accessible for all those involved in statistical activities in medicine and health sciences, from health professionals who are not highly trained in statistics to fully qualified and experienced statisticians.
Call Number: RA409 .E53 2005ISBN: 047084907XPublication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences by
Countless professionals and students who use statistics in their work rely on the multi-volume Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences as a superior and unique source of information on statistical theory, methods, and applications. This new edition (available in both print and on-line versions) is designed to bring the encyclopedia in line with the latest topics and advances made in statistical science over the past decade.
Call Number: QA276.14 .E5 2006 v.1ISBN: 0471150444Publication Date: 2005
Online Resources
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics: Nearly 4000 terms are defined, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational and graphical aspects. Entries are provided for standard and specialized statistical software. In addition, short biographies of over 100 important statisticians are given. Definitions provide enough mathematical detail to clarify concepts and give standard formulae when these are helpful. The majority of definitions then give a reference to a book or article where the user can seek further or more specialized information, and many are accompanied by graphical material to aid understanding.
Call Number: QA276.14 .E84 2010 (Online)
Dictionary of Statistics: Wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary containing over 2,000 entries on all aspects of statistics including terms used in computing, mathematics, operational research, and probability, as well as biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field, and coverage of statistical journals and societies.
Electronic Statistics Textbook: Provides a comprehensive overview of major topics in statistics and covers a wide variety of application. Organized by modules with a point-and-click interface. Includes a glossary of statistical terms and a list of references for further study.
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics: Covers statistical issues pertinent to life scientists, healthcare professionals and practicing statisticians. Includes up-to-date material on bio-informatics and statistical genetics. Easily accessible for all those involved in statistical activities in medicine and health sciences, from health professionals who are not highly trained in statistics to fully qualified and experienced statisticians.
Call Number: RA409 .E53 2005 (Online)