Classics: Articles & Databases

L'Annee Philologique is a bibliography of classical languages and literature. Subscription is for unlimited users.

Migne's Patrologiae Graecae contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. Edited by J.-P. Migne, it was published in print in the nineteenth century and is now made available electronically for the first time.

Searchable text of all 17 volumes of the Basilica, a ninth-century Byzantine legal text, as edited by between 1945 and 1988 by H.J. Scheltema, D. Holwerda, and N. van der Wal.

Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, including books, journal and magazine articles, bibliographies, and trade publications.

DigiZeitschriften makes it possible for researchers to access well-known German journals. According to specialists in the field, the journal titles are among the most important in each subject area; at the moment about 110 journals are available in the following subject areas: Arts, Comparative Literature, Economics, Education, English language and literature, Geology, Germanic language and literature, History, Law, Librarianship, Mathematics, Music, Religion, Romance language and literature, Sciences, Sociology. Like the North American counterpart, JSTOR, Digizeitschriften digitizes a journal from volume 1 to the 'moving wall' (2-5 years before present date). Both English and German interfaces are available.

Provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more, Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.
Access provided by the Frederica Killgore Endowment.

The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. Dates of coverage: 1981 - .

Online, full text access to scholarly journals from date of inception to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, fulltext with limits by discipline, year, and article type.

This bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, film and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide between 1926 and the present.

Periodicals Index Online began as Periodicals Contents Index at Harvard University. Articles from over 900 humanities and social sciences periodicals with nineteenth century content have been indexed. (1790-1919)

Citations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.