LibGuides: Hispanic Studies: News and Media

Current Newspapers

Nexis Uni
Provides access to many Spanish-language newspapers, including El País and El Mundo (Spain), El Universal (Mexico), La Nación (Argentina) and O Globo and O Estado de S. Paulo (Brazil).

Online Newspapers
Links to thousands of newspaper titles from all over the world, including hundreds from South and Central America.

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
Text and images of newspapers published in the eighteenth- and nineteenth-century Caribbean.
Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society—one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories—this collection provides students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, culture and daily life.
Featuring publications from 22 islands, Caribbean Newspapers provides complete facsimiles of every available issue, including eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items. Most of these newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Spanish-, French-, and Danish-language titles are also provided.
Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Also found within this resource are newspapers from Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region and integrally related to its history.

Hemeroteca Digital
Provides online access to over one hundred significant Spanish newspapers, ranging from the 17th to mid-20th century. A project of the National Library of Spain.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Searchable articles and images from Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. from 1808-1980.

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Nexis Uni
Contains fulltext of recent years of Spanish-language newspapers (dates of coverage vary by title). To find a specific title or to browse through available Spanish-language titles use the 'Source Directory', located at the very top of the initial screen.

Films on Demand
Streaming educational, documentary, and feature films.

Note: These films do not have public performance rights, which means they can only be streamed in person in classroom settings; they cannot be viewed in live online meetings.
Fondren has access to the following video collections:
- Feature Films for Education
- Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
- Science Video Collection
- Films on Demand
- World Cinema Collection
Kanopy Streaming
Streaming films, documentaries, and TV shows, from studios and producers like A24, PBS, BBC, MUBI, and Criterion.

Note: You'll need to set up a free account using your Rice email address in order to watch videos. If using a public PC in the library, users need to use Firefox.

Squid TV
Provides links to live streams of television stations across the world.