Hispanic Studies: Digital Collections
Online Text Collections
- Bibliografia de la Literatura Espanola This link opens in a new windowIncludes monographs, periodical articles, translated editions, critical studies, book reviews, bibliographies and congress proceedings. The collection covers a variety of subject areas in Spanish literature: literary theory, literary genres, popular literature, Hispanism, bibliographies and authors.
- Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new windowLatin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America, from the 17th through the 20th century.
- Latino-Hispanic American Experience (Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection Series I) This link opens in a new windowPresents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics – shedding new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized them from the earliest moments of this country’s history through contemporary times.
- Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers (The Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection, Series II) This link opens in a new windowPresents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers –including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing, indexed for ease of search and maximum discovery."
- Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges This link opens in a new windowThis online database originates from the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundacion San Telmo. The database provides access to a wide range of materials, including those that are rare or appeared in unindexed national and provisional newspapers. The database includes: full-text search capability (the texts themselves are not included), a complete primary bibliography, a large secondary bibliography, and an encyclopedia.
- Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro : 1500-1700 This link opens in a new windowThis full text database contains the most important plays of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries in Spain, either edited by the playwrights themselves or by an editor "endorsed" by the playwright. It includes more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists including Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, Agustín Moreto etc.
Contemporary playwrights
- Contexto TeatralContexto Teatral is a live archive of new plays by contemporary Spanish playwrights. Contexto Teatral has over 350 plays by nearly 100 playwrights archived, most of them from Spain, but with a number of authors born abroad, mainly in Latin America. All of them are alive and under the age of sixty, and most were born in the 70s and 80s.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University