LibGuides: Philosophy: Text Sources

Full-text collections

Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker This link opens in a new window
Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker, with its carefully selected literary and non-literary texts, is widely regarded throughout the world as the premier collection of German writing. It covers the works of major authors spanning eleven centuries and includes historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Library of the Greek and Latin texts with English translations from the Classical World.
Nietzsches Werke This link opens in a new window
Presents the complete contents of the Colli/Montinari edition of Nietzsche's works organized according to the Kritische Studienausgabe.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly eBooks and journals from Oxford University Press. Fondren owns access to the following subjects: Classical Studies, Philosophy, Political Science and Psychology. Browse by subject and look for the green unlock symbol to find accessible content.
Past Masters: Full Text Humanities This link opens in a new window
Digital versions of the writings of many writers and philosophers. Texts are taken from definitive print sources.
Rice's access to this collection includes works by the following authors and the following packages: Anselm, Thomas Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Jane Austen, A.J. Ayer, Jeremy Benthem, George Berkeley (Bishop of Clyne), Robert Boyle, British Philosophy: 1600-1900, Charlotte Brontë, Fanny Burney, John Calvin, Samuel Coleridge, R.G. Collingwood, The Continental Rationalists, Anne, Conway, Charles Darwin, Donald Davidson, Daniel Defoe, John Dewey, René Descartes, John Dewey, Charles Dickens, the Eighteenth Century, George Eliot, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Frederick Engels, Adam Ferguson, Johann Fichte, William Gladstone, Thomas, Hardy, Georg Hegel, Thomas Hobbes, David Hume, Immanual Kant, Kierkegaard, G. W. Leibniz, John Locke, Martin Luther, Katherine Mansfield, Thomas Malthus, Karl Marx, Modern Era (1800-1950), Nietzsche, William of Ockham, Oxford Classical Dictionary, Charles Sanders Peirce, Plato, Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill, Alexander Pope, Romantic Age, Josiah Royce, George Santayana, Arthur Schopenhauer, Mary Shelley (journals of), Henry Sidgwick, Adam Smith, Herbert Spencer, Jonathan Swift, Alfred Lord Tennyson, Max Weber, Ludwig Wittgenstein, Wordsworths (letters of) and William Butler Yeats. See the database for specific titles.
Voltaire électronique This link opens in a new window
Voltaire électronique is based upon the Voltaire Foundation Oxford edition of the Complete works of Voltaire. It includes all of Voltaire's literary works. Texts which have not yet been published in the Complete works are drawn either from the original sources or from the ninteenth-century Moland edition of Voltaire's works. The database will be updated regularly with further texts from the Oxford edition as they become available.