LibGuides: Philosophy: Reference Sources

Online Resources

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Reference work on all aspects of philosophy.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work."

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Introductory ebooks to writers, artists, topics, philosophers, and literary and philosophical periods. Frequently updated with new information.

Rice University has access to all titles published through 2024.
International Encyclopedia of Ethics This link opens in a new window
This resource "espouses a broad vision of ethics that creates links to many other disciplines, including medicine, technology studies, computer science, business, religion, and law. Entries range in size from shorter definitions and biographies to extended treatments of major topics (Wiley).
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books containing in-depth articles covering the following subject areas: Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Social Work and Sociology. Users can use subject browse options on the top navigation bar and subject filters on the left-hand pane of the search results page. See more information for years owned..
Fondren's access:
Archaeology: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Classical Studies: 2009-2012 Foundation and the 2012-2022 Collections;
Criminology and Criminal Justice: 2009-2012 Foundation and 2013-2022 Collections;
History: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Law: 2009-2012 Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Linguistics: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Literature: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Music: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Neuroscience: 2021-2023 Collections;
Philosophy: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Physical Sciences: 2017, 2018 and 2019 Collections;
Political Science: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Psychology: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Religion: Foundation and the 2012-2023 Collections;
Social Work: 2023 and
Sociology: 2017-2023 Collections.

Related Resources

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Reference works on history and related disciplines, such as literature, philosophy, religious studies, and the arts.

Fondren owns access to titles in this series published through 2024.
MIT Encyclopedia of Cognitive Sciences This link opens in a new window
MITECS classifies the cognitive and brain sciences into six domains: (1) computational intelligence (2) culture, cognition, and evolution (3) linguistics and language (4) neuroscience (5) philosophy, and (6) psychology. Each section contains an extended series of brief entries on the defining research topics of the domain.
Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Users can perform automatic bibliographic searches in the International Medieval Bibliography Online. International Encyclopaedia of the Middle Ages Online is a supplement to Lexikon des Mittelalters online, providing original articles that cover the time period 300-1500 CE, in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.