LibGuides: Biochemistry and Cell Biology: Articles

Finding Articles

Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc.

In some cases, links to the full text are provided.

When links are not available, use the Journals tab on the Fondren Library website to find access points for journals in electronic format.

Some subscriptions are in paper format only; check Onesearch to search for journals not found online: https://onesearch.library.rice.edu/discovery/search?vid=01RICE_INST:RICE

Online Indexes

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, including books, journal and magazine articles, bibliographies, and trade publications.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An expansive index to the world’s life sciences journal literature, covering topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. Part of the Web of Science.
MedLine (via FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Medline covers more than 4000 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Medline is prepared by the National Library of Medicine.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Citations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, substance data, chemical reactions, chemical regulatory data, and chemical suppliers. (1907- ) Registration required. Accounts available for Rice University faculty, students and staff. Apply for Scifinder account.

To learn more about the SciFinder-n platform, view the Quick Start guide.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database includes article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
Web of Knowledge This link opens in a new window
WoK is a database platform providing content in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Journal Title Abbreviations

Source Index (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index, CASSI)
QD1 .A1 A515 1907-2004 - Reference Desk
Lists all periodicals that have ever had an article abstracted for Chemical Abstracts. Gives complete bibliographical information and history of the title. Also, shows library holdings for a title.
All that JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources) -- Chemistry