Biochemistry and Cell Biology: Reference Sources

Biochemistry: a short course - Harry Roy Matthews

QP514.2 .M387 1997

Introduces students to the fundamentals of biochemistry.  Based on the author's years of experience teaching graduate, undergraduate, and professional courses, this comprehensive introduction caters to the specific needs of researchers and students who must familiarize themselves rapidly with core concepts, principles and theories.  Every chapter contains suggested further readings. questions, and succinct discussions of the answers.  Extensively illustrated with practical examples.

Computational Approaches to Biochemical Reactivity - Gabor Maray-Szabo

QP517 .M3 C635 2002

Summarizes recent results in the rapidly developing discipline of the computational aspects of biochemical reactivity.  It presents a comprehensive and critical treatise on the subject, with numerous references coverning practiacally all relevant and recent work.  This volume will be of interest to graduate students and researchers working in molecular biophysics, structural biology, or structure-based molecular design.

Electron Paramagnetic Resonance in Biochemistry and Medicine - Rafik Galimzyanovich Saifutdinov

QP519.9 .E433 E436 2002

Discusses spectra of many tissues and bodily fluids, and the quantitative nature of paramagnetic centers in both normal individual and patients suffering from a variety of diseases.  Special attention is give to the EPR examination of bio-molecules such as enzymes, polypeptides, vitamins, lipids, hydrocarbons, etc., which play an essential role in human activity.

Phospholipid Signaling Protocols - Ian M. Bird

QP752 .P53 P464 1998

Provides the methodology for studying the molecular species of key phospholipid signalling molecules, as well as the eyzymes that produce or degrade them.  The protocols described in this text would allow any well equipped laboratory to tackle lipid analysis.  The detailed step-by-step instructions make this book suitable for both the newcomer and the experienced investigator.

Proteins, Enzymes, Genes: the interplay of chemistry and biology - Joseph S. Fruton

QP511 .F783 1999

Traces the historical developments leading to the emergence of biochemistry and molecular biology as a discipline, primarily after 1800.

Proteomics - Timothy Palzkill

QP551 .P292 2002

Provides the active researcher with an overview of the types of questions being addressed in proteomics studies and the technologies used to address those questions.  Proteomics is an interdisciplinary science that includes biology, bioinformatics, and protein chemistry.

Schaum's Outline of Theory and Problems of Biochemistry - Philip W. Kuchel

QP518.3 .S3 1998

Provides an outline for studying the subject of biochemistry.  Practice problems with full explanations are included.

Textbook of Biochemistry: with clinical correlations - Thomas M. Devlin

QP514.2 .T4 1997

Presents the biochemistry of mammalian cells, relates events at the cellular level to the subsequent physiological processes in the whole animal, and cites examples of human diseases derived from aberrant biochemical processes.  The organization and content aim to provide students with the complete picture of biochemistry and how it relates to humans.

Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology - Pei-Show Juo

R121 .J86 2002 - Reference Collection

Provides definitions to over 30,000 terms commomly used in biotechnology, molecular biology, and biomedicine. 

 
Dictionary of Genomics, Transcriptomics and Proteomics - Gunter Kahl

QH442 .K34 2009 - Reference Collection

Covers terms in molecular biology and gene technology.

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology - Paul Singleton

QR9 .S56 2001 - Reference Collection

Covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume.  Over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles are included.

Dictionary of Natural Products (CD-ROM)

QD415 .A25 D53 v.11.2 2003 - Reference Desk
Covers over 80,000 organic substances including all natural products contained in the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Antibiotics, Dictionary of Alkaloids, Dictionary of Drugs, and Dictionary of Terpenoids. Complete descriptions and physical data are included as well as extensive bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry - William J. Lennarz

QD415 .A25 E62 2004 - Reference Collection

Addresses both the history and recent advances in biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, and biophysics.

RS51 .M4 2006 - Reserve Desk

Gives full descriptions of chemicals and drugs that include variant names, trademarks, properties, formulas, and uses.

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Richard Cammack

QP512 .O94 2006 - Reference Collection

Defines termsc currently in use in the fields of biochemistry and molecular biology.  In a single alphabet, the dictionary includes topics and methods, chemical substances. and brief biographical entries of key scientistis.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology - Tadhg P. Begley

QP512 .W48 2009 - Reference Collection

Covers a range of topics from pure basic research to areas that have immedicate applications in fields such as drug discovery, sensor technology, and catalysis.