Latin American History: Articles

Latin American studies includes a vast range of disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science. Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American studies is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to facilitate research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources (Oxford University Press).

Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Dates of coverage: 1960s - Present .

Articles, book chapters, and other materials on Chicanos in the United States.

Todo tipo de material sobre los chicanos. En 1992 el BDC ampliado su alcance para incluir la más amplia experiencia latina de los puertorriqueños, cubano-americanos y los inmigrantes centroamericanos.

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) covers over 400 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities, or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics. A guide to searching the Hispanic American Periodicals Index is available online. Dates of coverage: 1970 - present (updated annually).

Index to resources on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life.

This bibliography covers literature, languages, linguistics, film and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide between 1926 and the present.

SocIndex (formerly Sociological Abstracts) covers 3,000 journals (and some books) in sociology, social planning/policy, and related subjects. "...offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others."

Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, including books, journal and magazine articles, bibliographies, and trade publications.

Online, full text access to scholarly journals from date of inception to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years from present. The archived collection includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. The content is searchable by author, title, fulltext with limits by discipline, year, and article type.

Citations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.