Spanish historical writing about the New World, 1493-1700, from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University
"This project focuses on 82 significant works of history mainly written in Spanish about America before 1700, including on the spot narratives, lives of missionaries, ethnographic studies, and natural histories. It includes writings by explorers, conquistadores, missionaries, traders and scientists. Equally importantly, there are also works by mestizos and Native American writers."
E123 .D44 1994
Hispanic Culture Series: books before 1601
Gov PQ 6171.A2H57
Microfilm. Spanish, Portuguese & American books before 1601, Hispanic books printed before 1601. Spanish Language.
Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Biographical Archive
Gov CT1345 .A7- CT1345 .A73
Microfiche. Dates of birth, dates of death, occupations, geographical data, and sources on historical figures connected to Spain, Portugal, and Latin America. Ranging from the early 17th century to 1995, the three microfiche editions Archivo Biógrafico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica (ABEPI) I, II and III contain biographical entries from 866 reference works, comprising a total of 2,000 volumes. Biographical encyclopedias and handbooks, scattered all over the world, were utilized for this project. Consisting of 2,633 microfiches, this collection provides a unique overview of the cultural, economic and social phenomena, which have shaped the life and history of Spain, Portugal and Latin America. The Archives facilitate access to some 480,000 biographical entries, providing information on 340,000 individuals.
Special Studies Series: Foreign Nations: Latin America, 1962 - 1980
Gov F1414.2 .L29
Microfilm. UPA’s Special Studies provide assessments by U.S. experts on far-ranging topics of national, regional, and global concern. Students and researchers worldwide who are interested in international relations will find much authoritative material to further their understanding and stimulate their own thinking. The authors of these special studies are associated with several of the finest research facilities in the United States: the Army War College’s Strategic Studies Institute, the Naval War College’s Center for Advanced Research, the National Defense University, the Institute for Defense Analysis, the Army Command and General Staff College, the American Institutes for Research, and major international institutes at Harvard, Columbia, Stanford, Georgetown, MIT, and Yale.
Print Guide: F1414.2 .L29
JV420 .C64 1995 microfilm
Library Catalog Access: series title only
The Colonies subset of Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature. Contains material in Dutch, English, French, German, Spanish and Swedish.
Image of the World: Geography and Cosmography
Z240 .I3595 unit 3 microfiche
Printed guide and checklist
Unit 3 of the series "Incunabula: the Printing Revolution in Europe, 1455-1500"
Women's Movement in Cuba, 1898-1958
Gov HQ 1507.W65
Microfilm. Compiled from Cuban archives, contains documents that cannot be found elsewhere in the U.S. or Latin America. Spanning the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime, the collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women, and the legal status of women.
Print Guide: HQ 1507.W65