Latin American History: Primary Texts
Newspapers
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new windowSeries 1 features more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela. Series 2 features more than 250 Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Latin American Newspapers from Belize, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua and Paraguay (Readex).
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790— and is a good source for foreign newspapers.
*Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic.
- Hemeroteca digitalDozens of significant Spanish newspapers, ranging from the 17th to mid-20th century. A project of the National Library of Spain.
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new windowCreated in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society—one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories—this collection provides students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, culture and daily life.
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press This link opens in a new windowDocuments and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Has It Been Digitized?
- Google Books
Brings together millions of titles from the dawn of printing to the present day. Out-of-copyright books are available in full text.
- Internet Archive
Over 2,000,000 digitized books and manuscripts.
-
Hathi Trust
A shared digital repository of United States' great research libraries.
Primary Text Databases
- Sabin Americana (1500-1926) This link opens in a new windowBased on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
- Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice This link opens in a new window"Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography (Adam Matthew)."
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window"This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology (Adam Matthews)." The documents are organized in five sections: 1) Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; 2) Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; 3) The Visible Empire; 4) Religion and Empire; and 5) Race, Class and Colonialism, 1607-2007.
- Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window"The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research... This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Peron in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil (Adam Matthew)."
- Oliveira Lima Library This link opens in a new window"The Oliveira Lima Library has been lauded as the finest collection of Luso-Brazillian material available to U.S. scholars. With the core of its content derived from the "long" nineteenth century, this collection turns the spotlight on South America's largest and most influential power, covering topics such as: colonialism, missionaries, slave trade and abolition, economic development and agricultural trade, Indigenous Peoples, international relations, and the fight for Brazilian independence (Gale, includes parts 1 and 2)."
- Colonial Caribbean, 1624-1870 This link opens in a new windowStretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, this database includes materials from Colonial Office files from The National Archives, UK. It includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords (Adam Matthew).
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowThe database contains more than 35,000 of declassified U.S. federal documents that led to policy decisions.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseContains information on more than 36,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.
- Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 1: “Casa y Cultura” This link opens in a new windowCollection of approximately 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture of Revolutionary Cuba and its cultural relations with Latin American and Caribbean countries (Brill).
- EuropeanaOver 53 million digital items (images, texts, films) pertaining to European history and culture. Funded by the European Commission and the member states.
- A Colony in Crisis: The Saint-Domingue Grain Shortage of 1789Translated and curated primary sources from an episode in the history of Saint-Domingue.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University