Theatre: Videos
Finding Videos/DVDs
You can search Fondren Library's OneSearch for videos and DVDs. Search options include title, author (actor, director, writer, etc), subject and keyword.
DVDs (unless they are on reserve for a class) are located in the South Reading Room on the first floor. Videotapes (unless the catalog record says LSC for location) are shelved at the end of the Reference Collection on the first floor.
Theatre Productions in Streaming Video
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAVON contains multitudes of theatre documentaries, interviews and performances, including by the Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Theater Archive, and more. To browse theatre holdings go to Channels, select Fine Arts and Performance, and filter to Theatre (476 videos).
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new windowResources for theatre including filmed productions, documentaries, master classes, interviews, reference guides and more. Note that DT+ resources are not listed in OneSearch.
- Drama Online This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse the library's collections in Drama Online, including play texts, filmed performances, master classes, documentaries and more.
- Films on Demand: Drama and the TheatreOver 480 videos of staged performances, documentaries, master classes and interviews.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowGo to Browse: Music, Theatre & Dance and click the Performing Arts heading to look through theatre films. Includes filmed staged performances, documentaries and more (including Maxine Peake's Hamlet).
- National Theatre Collections This link opens in a new windowDrawing on 10 years of National Theatre Live broadcasts and archives, these collections include 40 films (Bloomsbury). Fondren Library owns access to National Theatre Collections 1, 2 & 3.
Instructional Video
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new windowResources for theatre including filmed productions, documentaries, master classes, interviews, reference guides and more. Note that DT+ resources are not listed in OneSearch.
- Ken Rea's The Outstanding ActorFrom The Outstanding Actor author and acting teacher Ken Rea, comes this masterclass collection of 10 actor training videos.... Giving students the opportunity to learn first-hand from the best, the series covers key topics in actor training, from exploring physicality and strengthening your presence to developing charisma and becoming successful.
- Physical Actor Training: an online A-ZPhysical Actor Training - an online A-Z establishes a foundation for physical training exercises through over 60 dynamic videos with accompanying audio commentary, reflection, and texts for today’s physical actor, teacher, and trainer.
- Theatre Performance and Practice Video Library, Drama Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes 7 educational films, which will enable users to understand first-hand the process of creating theatre from inception through to performance (Bloomsbury).
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University