Earth Sciences: Reference Sources
This guide provides a navigational pathway into general and specialized resources in the geosciences. The materials are both print and electronic.
Reference Sources: ONLINE
-
Earth Science: Earth Materials and Resources This link opens in a new windowArticles and descriptions of processes, water, soil, minerals, chemicals, oil and gas, and other natural materials and cycles. This includes tables, charts, drawings, and photographs.
-
Earth Science: Earth's Surface & History This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia covering geography, geology, biology, paleontology, and other earth science-related disciplines. Gives detailed information on the evolution of dinosaurs, fish, birds, plant life and humans. Contains tables, charts, drawings, and photographs.
-
Earth Science: Earth's Weather, Water & Atmosphere This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of essays covering water, weather, meteorology, and Earth’s atmosphere, along with other earth science- related disciplines.
-
Earth Science: Physics & Chemistry of the Earth This link opens in a new windowReference work on geothermal processes, climate change, physics, Earth's chemical makeup, mantle dynamics and earthquakes, and other earth science-related disciplines.
-
Encyclopedia of Global Resources This link opens in a new windowInformation on the relationships between global resources and domains of resource exploitation, environmentalism, ecology, geology, and biology. Includes encyclopedia entries, charts, tables, and graphs.
-
Oxford Companion to the EarthProvides broad coverage of the earth sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University