Paranormal Studies: Journals and Articles
Our local holdings
To search for a specific journal, enter its title (e.g. "Journal of Parapsychology") in the search box under the Journals tab on the main Fondren Library website.
- Fortean Times -- 1994-2015. Stacks, BF1001 .F67
- Fate Magazine -- in the Woodson Research Center
- Revue Planete, 1961-1968. Stacks, PN5190 .P53 C67 2006.
- Remote viewing magazines -- Aperture; Eight Martinis
Digitized Periodicals on UFOlogy and the paranormal
- WISE Digital LibraryMore than 370 journals on the anomalous and the paranormal divided into the following subject categories: biomedical; consciousness and parapsychology; alternative/new energy; scientific anomalies; unexplained aerial phenomena, et al.
- UFO Newsletters from the Archives for the Unexplained"A large collection of newsletters from around the world and through the decades, dedicated to Unidentified Flying Objects and related gathered research. The vast majority of these come from the Archives for the Unexplained in Norrköping Sweden."
- Early UFO Periodicals on the CUFOS websiteClick the "Early UFO Periodicals" button to access digitized periodicals such as "ARPO Bulletin", "Flying Saucer Digest" and "Saucerian".
- The International Association for the Preservation of Spiritualist and Occult Periodicals (IAPSOP)A US-based private organization focused on the digital preservation of Spiritualist and occult periodicals published between the Congress of Vienna and the start of the Second World War. It contained over three million processed pages as of July, 2017.
- Psychic News 1932-2010The UK-based Psychic News was first published as a weekly newspaper for Spiritualists in 1932. The Psychic News Digital Archive comprises 4,125 items and offers a rich source for historical study of Spiritualism and psychical research, both within the United Kingdom and internationally.
Databases of Scholarly Articles and Dissertations
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex to resources on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowJournals covering the history of the United States and Canada, including international journals, state and local journals, and journals in the social sciences and other related disciplines.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContaining over 3.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, the database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, sociology, education, linguistics, and other areas. Provides unmatched coverage of behavioral science and mental health fields.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature and indexed titles in anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
- Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowCitations for doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present. Some master's theses are also available. The full texts of dissertations and theses added since 1997 (since 1918 for Rice theses) may be downloaded.
Web Address: library.rice.edu | Physical Address: 6100 Main Street, Houston, Texas 77005 | Mailing Address: MS-44, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas 77251-1892 | Phone: 713-348-5698 | © 2014 Rice University