LibGuides: Census Data: Census Geographies

Key Resources

International Program Center
International demographic information by the Census Bureau.

County and City Data Book/U.S. Census Bureau
County and City Data Book along with others similar resources were part of the Census Bureau's Statistical Compendia program that terminated effective Oct. 1, 2011. The link for County and City Data book has suggestions for data sources by topic. Several organizations provide access to County and City Data books such as the ICPSR (1944-1977, 1983, 1988); and Hathi Thrust. Check library catalogs for the data on CDs or in book format.
Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates
Provides data by state and county. Includes maps, interactive tables, and school district data.
State and County Quickfacts
Includes facts about people, business, and geography. QuickFacts also includes data for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Provides a convenient summary of statistics on the social and economic structure of the states, metropolitan areas, and micropolitan areas in the United States. Check the library catalog for the latest version.
ZIP Code Business Patterns (NAICS)
Contains business data for 40,000 zip codes. Also available in CD-ROM, please check Fondren Library's online catalog.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (Current & Archive Editions) This link opens in a new window
"The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States." See the ProQuest Statistical Abstract LibGuide for tips on using the database.