Computational Applied Mathematics and Operations Research: Software
MATLAB
MATLAB is a numerical computing environment used widely for matrix manipulation, data and function plotting, and algorithm implementation.
Rice's Office of Information Technology provides all students, faculty, and staff with free licenses for MATLAB and a variety of additional toolboxes. Instructions for installation can be found here. MATLAB is also pre-installed on all campus desktops. Below are some training materials from Fondren's holdings.
Thorough documentation can be found on the MathWorks website.
MATLAB Guide by
A lively, concise introduction to the most popular and important features of MATLAB and the Symbolic Math Toolbox.
Call Number: QA297 .H5217 2017ISBN: 9781611974652Publication Date: 2017
MATLAB: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving by
Assuming no knowledge of programming, this book guides the reader through both programming and built-in functions to easily exploit MATLAB's extensive capabilities for tackling engineering problems. The book starts with programming concepts, such as variables, assignments, and selection statements, moves on to loops, and then solves problems using both the programming concept and the power of MATLAB.
Call Number: QA297 .A87 2017ISBN: 9780128045251Publication Date: 2017
MATLAB: An Introduction with Applications by
This book presents an introduction to MATLAB and its applications in engineering problem solving. The book is designed as an introductory course in MATLAB for engineers. The classical methods of electrical circuits, control systems, numerical methods, optimization, direct numerical integration methods, engineering mechanics and mechanical vibrations are covered using MATLAB software.
Call Number: QA297 .D85 2010ISBN: 9781848290433Publication Date: 2010
What Every Engineer Should Know about MATLAB and Simulink by
Using examples from mathematics, mechanical and electrical engineering, and control and signal processing, What Every Engineer Should Know About MATLAB and Simulink provides an introduction to these two computer environments and examines the advantages and limitations of MATLAB. It first explores the benefits of how to use MATLAB to solve problems and then process and present calculations and experimental results.
ISBN: 1138422126Publication Date: 2010
Matrix Algorithms in MATLAB (ON ORDER) by
Focuses on the MATLAB code implementations of matrix algorithms. The MATLAB codes presented in the book are tested with thousands of runs of MATLAB randomly generated matrices, and the notation in the book follows the MATLAB style to ensure a smooth transition from formulation to the code, with MATLAB codes discussed in this book kept to within 100 lines for the sake of clarity.
Call Number: QA188 .R68 2016 (Online)ISBN: 9780128038697Publication Date: 2016
Gurobi
The Gurobi Optimizer is an optimization solver widely used in industry for linear, quadratic, and mixed-integer programming.
Rice's Office of Information Technology provides free licenses for Gurobi. Register for an academic license here with your Rice email address, and download the solver from here. Thorough documentation can be found on the Gurobi website.
Wolfram Mathematica
Wolfram Mathematica is a technical computing system widely used in mathematical and computational fields. It includes an interpreter of Wolfram Language code, which emphasizes symbolic computation, as well as a graphical user interface which allows for the development of notebook documents in which Wolfram syntax, text, typeset mathematics, as well as output visualizations and tables can be formatted together. Mathematica is popular for the implementation of neural networks, machine learning, image processing, data science, and data visualization.
Rice's Office of Information Technology provides all students, faculty, and staff with free licenses for Mathematica—available for download on personal machines. Mathematica is also pre-installed on campus desktops. Find installation and activation instructions in the Box folder here.
Below are some training materials from Fondren's collection.
Mathematica® with Applications by
Starting with an introduction to the numerous features of Mathematica®, this book continues with more complex material. It provides the reader with lots of examples and illustrations of how the benefits of Mathematica® can be used.
ISBN: 3319520024Publication Date: 2017
Programming with Mathematica® by
Starting from first principles, this book covers all of the foundational material needed to develop a clear understanding of the Mathematica language, with a practical emphasis on solving problems. Concrete examples throughout the text demonstrate how Mathematica can be used to solve problems in science, engineering, economics/finance, computational linguistics, geoscience, bioinformatics, and a range of other fields.
ISBN: 9781107009462Publication Date: 2013
The Mathematica Book by
Guide to Mathematica written by its creator, and the founder and president of Wolfram Research, Stephen Wolfram.
Call Number: QA76.95 .W65 1996ISBN: 0965053202Publication Date: 1996
LaTeX
LaTeX is a document preparation system which is commonly used for the production of technical publications. Its several packages allow for aesthetic typsetting of, among other things, mathematical notation and computational algorithms.
LaTeX is a free software and instructions for downloading it can be found here.
Overleaf is a popular, free, online LaTeX interpreting environment that allows for document collaboration. If you want to avoid dealing with installations on your personal machine, this is the way to go. The Rice community can now create professional Overleaf accounts through Fondren. Check out the Overleaf research guide if you need help starting out.
TeX-LaTeX Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for users.
Below are some training materials from Fondren's collection.
Learning LaTeX by
A short, well-written book that covers the material essential for learning LaTeX. It includes incisive examples that teach LaTeX in a powerful yet abbreviated fashion.
Call Number: Z253.4 .L38 G75 2016ISBN: 9781611974416Publication Date: 2016
Practical LaTeX by
Practical LaTeX covers the material that is needed for everyday LaTeX documents. This accessible manual is friendly, easy to read, and is designed to be as portable as LaTeX itself.
ISBN: 9783319064253Publication Date: 2014
LaTeX: A Document Preparation System by
Authoritative user's guide and reference manual for the LaTeX computer typesetting system, authored by its creator.
Call Number: Z253.4 .L38 L35 1994ISBN: 0201529831Publication Date: 1994
