It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ever wished you could learn Python from a book? Head First Python is a complete learning experience for Python that helps you learn the language through a unique method that goes beyond syntax and how-to manuals, helping you understand how to be a great Python programmer. You'll quickly learn the language's fundamentals, then move onto persistence, exception handling, web development, SQLite, data wrangling, and Google App Engine.
Master the secret tools every Python programmer needs to know Professional Python goes beyond the basics to teach beginner- and intermediate-level Python programmers the little-known tools and constructs that build concise, maintainable code. Design better architecture and write easy-to-understand code using highly adoptable techniques that result in more robust and efficient applications.
This book is written in a helpful, practical style with numerous hands-on recipes and chapters to help you save time and effort by using Python to power ArcGIS to create shortcuts, scripts, tools, and customizations."Programming ArcGIS 10.1 with Python Cookbook" is written for GIS professionals who wish to revolutionize their ArcGIS workflow with Python. Basic Python or programming knowledge is essential(?).
If you've mastered Python's fundamentals, you're ready to start using it to get real work done. Programming Python will show you how, with in-depth tutorials on the language's primary application domains: system administration, GUIs, and the Web. You'll also explore how Python is used in databases, networking, front-end scripting layers, text processing, and more.
This task-based tutorial on Python is for those new to the language and walks you through the fundamentals. You'll learn about arithmetic, strings, and variables; writing programs; flow of control, functions; strings; data structures; input and output; and exception handling. At the end of the book, a special section walks you through a longer, realistic application, tying the concepts of the book together.
This book is a condensed reference for HTML5 markup. It presents the essential HTML5 elements and attributes in a well-organized format that can be used as a handy reference. Who This Book Is For: Website developers, Flash developers, user interface designers, HTML5 game designers, teachers, and educators.
HTML5 brings the biggest changes that HTML has seen in years. Web designers and developers now have a whole host of new techniques up their sleeves, from displaying video and audio natively in HTML, to creating realtime graphics directly on a web page without the need for a plugin. But all of these new technologies bring more tags to learn and more avenues for things to go wrong. HTML5 Solutions provides a collection of solutions to all of the most common HTML5 problems. Every solution contains sample code that is production-ready and can be applied to any project.
A full-color introduction to the basics of HTML and CSS from the publishers of Wrox! . Many books teaching HTML and CSS are dry and only written for those who want to become programmers, which is why this book takes an entirely new approach. Introduces HTML and CSS in a way that makes them accessible to everyone--hobbyists, students, and professionals.
In this pocket reference, Jennifer Niederst, the author of the best-selling Web Design in a Nutshell, delivers a concise guide to every HTML tag. This pocket reference is targeted at web designers and web authors and is likely to be the most dog-eared book on every web professional's desk.
MATLAB: A Practical Introduction to Programming and Problem Solving, winner of TAA's 2017 Textbook Excellence Award ("Texty"), guides the reader through both programming and built-in functions to easily exploit MATLAB's extensive capabilities for tackling engineering and scientific problems.
MATLAB offers numeric and symbolic computation, visualization and application-specific tools, with applications across engineering, science, mathematics and technical disciplines. This text offers students access to the MATLAB technical computing environment, for use on his/her personal computer.
Introduction to MATLAB® Programming for Engineers and Scientists examines the basic elements of code writing, and describes MATLAB® methods for solving common engineering problems and applications across the range of engineering disciplines. The text uses a class-tested learning approach and accessible two-color page design to guide students from basic programming to the skills needed for future coursework and engineering practice.
The fourth edition of Numerical Methods Using MATLAB® provides a clear and rigorous introduction to a wide range of numerical methods that have practical applications. The authors' approach is to integrate MATLAB® with numerical analysis in a way which adds clarity to the numerical analysis and develops familiarity with MATLAB®.
This is the first book to combine image and video processing with a practical MATLAB®-oriented approach in order to demonstrate the most important image and video techniques and algorithms. Utilizing minimal math, the contents are presented in a clear, objective manner, emphasizing and encouraging experimentation.
Get practical guidelines for making your website accessible to people with disabilities. With this handbook, you'll learn how to design or develop a site that conforms to Section 508 of the US Rehabilitation Act--and in the process you'll discover how to provide a better user experience for everyone.
Organized by exam objectives, this is a focused, concise review guide that works hand-in-hand with any learning tool, including the CompTIA A+ Complete Study Guide, 2nd Edition. The CompTIA A+ certification is the industry standard in terms of measuring a technician's hardware and software knowledge. As the most popular entry-level certification, it is particularly popular among individuals switching from another career to computers. This focused guide will help you focus on preparing to take the CompTIA A+ certification exam! A well-organized, ideal companion study tool to the Sybex CompTIA A+ guides Each chapter discusses the main topics that are featured in the two parts of the exam Discusses hardware, troubleshooting and maintenance, operating systems and software, networking, security, and operating procedures Author is a well-known certification columnist and bestselling author Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
In this Very Short Introduction, Subrata Dasgupta sheds light on these lesser known areas and considers the conceptual basis of computer science. Discussing algorithms, programming, and sequential and parallel processing, he considers emerging modern ideas such as biological computing and cognitive modelling, challenging the idea of computer science as a science of the artificial.
The Encyclopedia of Computer Science has always been the definitive source for everyone who works with computers, computing, and computer science. This new, updated edition contains 623 articles from over 340 international experts in the field, including 100 completely new entries, 900 illustrations, and a 16-page color insert. Organized in an easily accessible format, the Encyclopedia of Computer Science, 4th Edition encompasses everything from the history of electronic computing to the most current research in cutting-edge computer technology.
Join today's new revolution in creativity and community: "hackerspaces. "Stop letting other people build everything for you: "Do it yourself. "Explore, grab the tools, get hands-on, get dirty...and create things you never imagined you could. "Hack This "is your glorious, full-color passport to the world of hackerspaces: your invitation to share knowledge, master tools, work together, build amazing stuff-and have a flat-out blast doing it.
Learn how to program by diving into the R language, and then use your newfound skills to solve practical data science problems. With this book, you'll learn how to load data, assemble and disassemble data objects, navigate R's environment system, write your own functions, and use all of R's programming tools.
Objective C 2.0 is the object-oriented language that is the basis for Cocoa and Cocoa Touch, the development environment for the iPhone/iPod Touch.You'll learn all the basics: from handling data and creating functions to managing memory and handling exceptions. For programmers who want to develop iPhone apps, it's a must, and this title in the Visual QuickStart-style is the easy, fast way to get started.
Achieve optimal website speed and performance with this Wrox guide Effective website development requires optimum performance with regard to both web browser and server. This book covers all aspects of building and maintaining websites that deliver peak performance on all levels.
Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) is gaining serious traction among web and mobile developers, but as new PaaS providers emerge and existing vendors upgrade their features, it's hard to keep track of what PaaS has to offer. This thorough introduction takes you through the PaaS model from a developer's point of view, and breaks down the types of services that Google App Engine, Windows Azure, Heroku, Cloud Foundry, and others deliver. Whether you're an entrepreneur or part of a large enterprise development team, this book shows you how PaaS can help you focus on innovative applications, rather than spend your time worrying about technical operations.
Ready to create rich interactive experiences with your artwork, designs, or prototypes? This is the ideal place to start. With this hands-on guide, you'll explore several themes in interactive art and design--including 3D graphics, sound, physical interaction, computer vision, and geolocation--and learn the basic programming and electronics concepts you need to implement them. No previous experience is necessary.