LibGuides: Coding Resources : Databases

Databases

Here are some links to some of the most relevant computer science (and computer science adjacent) databases Rice has access to. If you are unable to find the database or resource you are looking for, check out the complete list of computer science databases in Rice's A-Z database list. There are 32 computer science databases alone!

Access Science
"AccessScience contains the 7,000+ articles from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and the 110,000+ definitions from the Dictionary of Scientific & Technical terms."
Applied Science and Technology Source
"Applied Science and Technology Source... covers the research and development spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines... focuses on traditional engineering challenges & research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology... provides comprehensive coverage for a wide variety of applied science specialties—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering."
Association of Computing Machinery Digital Library (AMC Digital Library)
"Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947 are available together with selected works published by affiliated organizations."
Computer Source
"Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology."
Dictionary of Computing
"Comprehensive coverage of computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and the home."
Dictionary of Internet
"Web, software technology, jargon, e-commerce, security, and the technical and organizational infrastructure."
IEEE Xplore
"The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library database delivers full-text access to all journals, conference proceedings and active standards in electrical engineering, computer science and related technologies from the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)."
Inspec
"Provides citations, abstracts, and links to full-text of the worldwide literature in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology."
Note: This is on the Engineering Village platform; make sure to check *Inspec* next to Database selection on the upper left of the database screen.
Science and Technology Collection
"The Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications."

Note: Some of these database links can be a little finicky. They were all tested before being added, but they can act up. You might get error pages or be told to sign in to the website. If this occurs, either try using a different browser or get the link through the A-Z database listings. If the problem persists, please let us know and we will try to fix it as soon as possible.