Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) Documents

Hello, welcome to LibGuide: ERIC documents.

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center), a freely available online library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. 

ERIC contains over 1.4 million citations for journal articles, a majority of which are peer-reviewed books, research papers, literature reviews, and bibliographies, Conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, government documents, dissertations, and theses, audiovisual media directories for syllabi, and lesson plans and other materials in the field of education.

Material is gathered from individual contributors and scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the US Department of Education, other federal agencies, and state and local agencies.

Approximately one-quarter of the complete ERIC collection is available in full text, with coverage dating to 1966. 

Over 50 Years of ERIC (1964-2022)

What is the history of ERIC?

ERIC was founded on May 15, 1964. Learn more about the history of ERIC from the 50 Years of ERIC (1964-2014).

Use ERIC to write an academic research paper. 

Access to ERIC Documents

• ERIC website  (U.S. Education Department) - includes the full-text of many ERIC Documents (ED entries) and some journal articles (EJ entries) listed in the ERIC database
• ERIC Documents not available from the ERIC website may be available at Fondren Library or in other library collections:
  • Check the Fondren Library Catalog for Library holdings search for the title of books or journals
  • Many older ERIC  documents (published prior to 2004) are available in the Fondren Library's ERIC microfiche collection.
• Items not owned by the Fondren Library can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Please use the left toolbar to navigate searching through ERIC. There are more detailed instructions provided. 

• ERIC (via Ebsco)
• ERIC (via Public Access)
• ERIC (via First Search)
• ERIC Microfiche at Fondren Library
• Interlibrary Loan